Fee categories

When you receive an offer to study at La Trobe University, you will be allocated a fee category that determines what type of tuition fee you will pay and how you can pay them.

There are three different fee categories:

  1. Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP)
  2. Full fee
  3. International full fee
Fee categoryWhat does this mean for me?What do I need to do?

Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP)

Commonwealth Supported Places (CSPs) are subsidised by the Australian Government. In a CSP, your university fees are reduced. You can pay your student contribution (the remaining fees that you pay) upfront, or you may be eligible to defer your student contribution to HECS-HELP.

Submit a ‘Request for Commonwealth Assistance HECS-HELP’ eCAF to agree to the terms and conditions of your CSP place. You must do this before you can enrol. If you are eligible to defer your student contribution (tuition fees) you will be able to nominate if you will defer all or just some of your student contribution.

Full fee

Full-fee places are not subsidised by the Australian Government.

You must pay your fees upfront before the payment due date. If eligible, you may be able to take out a FEE-HELP loan.

International full fee

You are an International student.

Refer to International course fees web page for more detailed information.

In addition to your tuition fees, you may also be required to pay the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

If you are required to pay the SSAF it will appear on your Statement of Account and you must pay by the payment due date. If eligible, you may be able to take out a SA-HELP loan.