Programs and events

Upcoming events

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news and updates on exhibitions, programs and events.


No upcoming events at the moment. Check back soon.

Past events

Wednesday 05 June 2019

We invite you to join us for a conversation around neurodiversity and creative practice.

Saturday 11 May 2019

Sunday 31 March 2019

A Panel discussion: Charles Green, Sisters Akousmatica, Kent Wilson

Saturday 30 March 2019

Free, Registration not required

Saturday 30 March 2019

Free registration not required

Saturday 30 March 2019

Dr Tatiana Soares da Costa on Biochemistry and Damien Shen + Robert Hague

Friday 29 March 2019

This immersive festival-based program will give participants a unique insight into the practices of the festival’s visual artists and the particularities of curating their work in a festival context.

Thursday 28 March 2019

Dr Stephen Morey on Linguistics and Woven Dialogue

Tuesday 26 March 2019

Dr Jim Radford on Future Landscapes with Taichi Nakamura

Sunday 24 March 2019

Dr James Walker on Linguistics and Woven Dialogue

Saturday 23 March 2019

Artist talk, Registration not required

Friday 22 March 2019

This immersive festival-based program will give participants a unique insight into the practices of the festival’s visual artists and the particularities of curating their work in a festival context.

Wednesday 20 March 2019

A Zinda Festival event presented by La Trobe Art Institute in partnership with Multicultural Arts Victoria.

Thursday 07 February 2019

In a first-of-its-kind exhibition, the NGV brings together the works of Dutch artist M.C. Escher and Japanese design studio nendo to deliver a thought-provoking exploration of time and space communicated through art.

Thursday 17 January 2019

Join us for the launch of our first show for 2019 with opening remarks by Julie Chambers, Director, Art Vault and Artistic Director, Australian Print Triennial.

Wednesday 16 January 2019

NGV Kids on Tour comes to La Trobe Art Institute

Saturday 08 December 2018

3D Painting Workshop

Wednesday 05 December 2018

3D Painting Workshop

Wednesday 21 November 2018

Hear from powerhouse gallery directors Tony Ellwood AM (National Gallery of Victoria) and Karen Quinlan (Bendigo Art Gallery, LAI and now The National Portrait Gallery of Australia) as they come together to discuss the NGV’s latest blockbuster Escher X nendo: Between Two Worlds. One lucky attendee will win a catalogue and two x tickets for Escher X nendo: Between Two Worlds

Thursday 25 October 2018

Join 2018 LAI Emerging Curator Brigid Hansen, artist Xanthe Dobbie and researcher, writer, and award-winning poet Dr Quinn Eades as they discuss marginalised voices, queer issues and humour in contemporary Australian art and life.

Wednesday 24 October 2018

Making art is one thing, but getting it seen is quite another.

Thursday 11 October 2018

Dylan Martorell Performance

Thursday 09 August 2018

Join our expert panel of artists and linguists as they explore the importance of variation, gesture and glitches (mistakes) in their research and practice. Inspired by LAI’s current exhibition The Grammar of Glitch, this discussion will uncover the role of fragmentation, double-take, syntax and overload in visual, spoken and gestural language.

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Hear directly from New Histories artists in this dynamic FREE program of artist talks.

Monday 02 July 2018

Join contemporary artists challenging the concept of art as a historic record in this week of talks, guided exhibition visits and access to gallery back of house.

Tuesday 29 May 2018

Drop in and participate in the latest fun, interactive exhibition at La Trobe Art Institute.

Tuesday 29 May 2018

Drop in to LAI to view four films from the Mulka Project.