Programs and events

Upcoming events

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news and updates on exhibitions, programs and events.


No upcoming events at the moment. Check back soon.

Past events

Thursday 14 November 2019

Janet Bromley | David Keating | Judith Warnest

Monday 11 November 2019

David Griggs

Wednesday 16 October 2019

Want to find out what's happening at La Trobe Art Institute in 2020?

Saturday 05 October 2019

Gather together

Friday 04 October 2019

Woven Dialogue

Wednesday 02 October 2019

Senselab Seminar 3

Saturday 28 September 2019

La Trobe Art Institute weaving workshops

Thursday 26 September 2019

Bilum weaving

Wednesday 25 September 2019

great way to recycle old clothes and fabric!

Monday 16 September 2019

Basket weaving workshop

Wednesday 11 September 2019

Join Master Weaver Ilka White as she demonstrates natural fibre dyeing.

Monday 09 September 2019

Join the dance to Awaken Bunya!

Monday 09 September 2019

Presented by La Trobe Art Institute in partnership with Multicultural Arts Victoria, Bendigo Emerge Cultural Hub, Interwoven is a cross-cultural & trans-generational weaving collaboration. Part workspace, part exhibition, Interwoven will bring people from diverse backgrounds together through the process of weaving.

Wednesday 28 August 2019

Senselab Seminar exploring animal sociality.

Wednesday 14 August 2019

This special STEAM program open to schools and the general public will explore complex scientific phenomena through the lens of visual art.

Thursday 08 August 2019

Curator talk

Thursday 18 July 2019

Curator Talk

Friday 12 July 2019

Twilight Launch and Artist Talks

Wednesday 05 June 2019

We invite you to join us for a conversation around neurodiversity and creative practice.

Saturday 11 May 2019

Sunday 31 March 2019

A Panel discussion: Charles Green, Sisters Akousmatica, Kent Wilson

Saturday 30 March 2019

Free, Registration not required

Saturday 30 March 2019

Free registration not required

Saturday 30 March 2019

Dr Tatiana Soares da Costa on Biochemistry and Damien Shen + Robert Hague

Friday 29 March 2019

This immersive festival-based program will give participants a unique insight into the practices of the festival’s visual artists and the particularities of curating their work in a festival context.

Thursday 28 March 2019

Dr Stephen Morey on Linguistics and Woven Dialogue

Tuesday 26 March 2019

Dr Jim Radford on Future Landscapes with Taichi Nakamura

Sunday 24 March 2019

Dr James Walker on Linguistics and Woven Dialogue

Saturday 23 March 2019

Artist talk, Registration not required

Friday 22 March 2019

This immersive festival-based program will give participants a unique insight into the practices of the festival’s visual artists and the particularities of curating their work in a festival context.

Wednesday 20 March 2019

A Zinda Festival event presented by La Trobe Art Institute in partnership with Multicultural Arts Victoria.

Thursday 07 February 2019

In a first-of-its-kind exhibition, the NGV brings together the works of Dutch artist M.C. Escher and Japanese design studio nendo to deliver a thought-provoking exploration of time and space communicated through art.

Thursday 17 January 2019

Join us for the launch of our first show for 2019 with opening remarks by Julie Chambers, Director, Art Vault and Artistic Director, Australian Print Triennial.

Wednesday 16 January 2019

NGV Kids on Tour comes to La Trobe Art Institute