About the School

As a University Department of Rural Health, we are creating and strengthening the future health workforce of regional and rural Australia.

With over 3000 students, we are the largest rural health school in Australia. Our expert staff and purpose-built facilities bring world-class health education to regional Victoria.

We teach and research in 11 disciplines across La Trobe's regional campuses at Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo, Mildura and Shepparton. Our well-established courses ensure our graduates are highly regarded in their respective industries.

La Trobe Rural Health School is proud to attract a diverse range of staff and students, and we respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the lands on which each of our four campuses are situated.

Department of Community and Allied Health

The Department contributes significantly to the regional and rural health workforce with excellent graduate outcomes and established employability credentials.

Our educational and research approach emphasises contemporary industry needs, regional health and wellbeing impact and accessibility for students from diverse backgrounds.


Department of Dentistry and Oral Health

We are young, innovative and excited about making a difference to the oral health of the community.

We teach Oral Health Science and Dentistry in our state-of-the-art facilities and use online technology together with traditional class and lab based approaches to provide you with a stimulating, contemporary educational experience.


Department of Rural Nursing and Midwifery

Studying nursing gives you an opportunity to make a real difference to your community and embark on a journey of lifelong learning.

All of our courses are based on the La Trobe University’s regional campuses allowing students in rural and regional Victoria access to our high quality education.


Get in touch