About us

The Research Office supports all researchers from early career onwards with  applications, ethics, grants, contracts, commercialisation partnerships and publishing.

Log into Research Master [Internal login]

Research Policies and Procedures

Research Performance MaryAnne Aitken

Co-Executive Directors

Dr MaryAnne Aitken and Alistair Duncan

As the Executive Directors of the Research Office, we are responsible for leadership and management of the Research Office. Our teams include:  Grants, Consulting and Contracts,  Ethics, Bio Safety and Integrity and Research Performance.

Office of the Executive Director Office of Executive Director team

  • Research Office management
  • Special Projects

Contact the Office of the Executive Director

Deepa Balakrishnan


Dr Deepa Balakrishnan

  • Strategic and Collaborative Bids
  • ARC
  • NHMRC.

Contact the Grants team

Amanda Smith

Consulting and Contracts

Amanda Smith

  • Consultancy and Research Contracts
  • Processes
  • Policies
  • Tools and Templates.

Contact the Consulting and Contracts team

Ethics, Biosafety and Integrity

Jordane Malateree

  • Animal Ethics
  • Biosafety
  • Biosecurity
  • Defence expert control
  • Human Ethics
  • Research Integrity

Contact the Ethics and Integrity team

Kelly Farrell 2018

Research Impact

Dr Kelly Farrell

  • Developing Research Impact at La Trobe
  • Engagement and Impact 2018 enquiries

Contact the Research Impact team

Research Performance

Research Performance

Alistair Duncan

  • Research Performance
  • International Rankings
  • ERA
  • Research Master

Contact the Research Performance team