Bruce Stone Lecture

The Bruce Stone Lecture was established as part of La Trobe University's 50th anniversary celebrations in 2017 to honour the outstanding contributions of Professor Bruce Stone and his contributions to the development and reputation of scientific teaching and research at La Trobe University. Appointed in 1972, Bruce was Foundation Professor of the Department of Biochemistry. His interests were in plant biochemistry with a focus on cell wall polysaccharides.

This award recognises and celebrates outstanding professional achievements and leadership of alumni and associates in the discipline of Biochemistry and Genetics at La Trobe University. It is an annual event and is a highlight in the Department’s academic calendar.

Bruce Stone Lecture Medal winners

2019: Professor Nick Hoogenraad AO
2018: Professor Robin Anders
2017: Professor Marilyn Anderson AO