School of Nursing and Midwifery history

La Trobe's School of Nursing and Midwifery is one of the oldest tertiary nursing schools in Australia.

Originally the College of Nursing, Australia, and later the School of Nursing, Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences, the School became part of La Trobe University in 1987. It was well established when the Federal Government transferred nursing education from the apprentice-based hospital system to the higher education sector in 1984.

School milestones and highlights include:

1950: First post-registration diploma courses were conducted in Australia in nursing administration, nursing education and ward management. The College of Nursing became School of Nursing, Lincoln Institute of Health Science.

1974: Introduction of the first nursing pre-registration diploma program in Australia.

1979: Introduction of a two-year post registration bachelors degree in nursing, with the first intake in 1980.

1987: Introduction of a masters degree by thesis and coursework. Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences merged with La Trobe University.

1988: Opening of the Centre for Research in Public Health and Nursing.

1989: Introduction of a one-year post-registration bachelors degree and specialised graduate diplomas in advanced nursing. Foundation Chair of Nursing established. Introduction of a joint Bachelor of Nursing program with the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

1990: Introduction of honours program and enrolment of the School's first PhD candidates.

1991: Establishment of the School of Nursing on the Albury/Wodonga campus. Establishment of the Judith Lumley Centre.

1992: Introduction of an entry-to-practice Bachelor of Nursing degree.

1993: Our first PhD graduate.

1994: Establishment of the Graduate Clinical School in Midwifery and Women's Health and introduction of the Graduate Diploma in Midwifery. Foundation Professor in Midwifery established.

1994: International Journal of Nursing Practice launched.

1995: Foundation Professor of Midwifery appointed.

1996: Professor of Gerontic Nursing appointed.

1997: Introduction of Doctor of Nursing, Master of Midwifery and a graduate Bachelor of Nursing degree (two years) for graduates of other disciplines. Establishment of the joint Bachelor of Nursing program with the Singapore Nurses Association.

1998: Agreement signed with Faculty of Nursing and Shanghai Medical University, Peoples Republic of China.

1999: Professor of Advanced Nursing and Professor of Research appointed. Agreement signed with Prince of Songkla University and Mahidol University, Thailand.

2000: Introduction of Australia’s first 4-year undergraduate nursing degree. Introduction of double degree in nursing and public health. Professor of Midwifery appointed. Agreement signed with Nissoken, Japan, to offer the Bachelor of Aged Care and the Master of Nursing Studies in Japanese. Agreement signed with the World Health Organisation and the Royal Government of Bhutan to offer a post-registration Bachelor of Nursing in Bhutan. La Trobe Alfred Clinical School established.

2001: Introduction of double degree in nursing and midwifery. Introduction of the Bachelor of Nursing program in Bhutan. Introduction of the Doctor of Nursing Program in Thailand, in collaboration with Chiang Mai University. Establishment of Australian Centre for Evidence Based Aged Care, in collaboration with the Bundoora Extended Care Centre and the Joanna Briggs Institute.

2002: Professor of Community Nursing appointed.

2003: Professor of Clinical Nursing appointed. Introduction of masters degree for nurse practitioner preparation.

2004: Creation of new School of Nursing, combining Department of Nursing at Bendigo campus and School of Nursing and Midwifery at Bundoora campus.

2005: La Trobe Austin Clinical School established. First honorary clinical appointment with Alfred Health. The School located across five campuses: Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo, Bundoora, Mildura, Shepparton.

2006: Student exchange agreement with Metropol University, Copenhagen and Jonkoping University, Sweden.

2011: Expanded Clinical School network to include Melbourne and Northern Health.

2014: Move of Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo, Mildura and Shepparton nursing to the Department of Rural Nursing, La Trobe Rural Health School.

2016: Memorandum of Understanding signed with Universitas Airlangga, Indonesia. Establishment of partnership with Chisholm Institute to jointly deliver the Bachelor of Nursing (enrolled nurse entry).

2019: Introduction of Bachelor of Nursing/Bachelor of Psychological Science double degree. Introduction of Doctor of Midwifery program.

2020: Introduction of Bachelor of Nursing (Post-Registration) in Mauritius.

Heads of School

2017-present: Professor Lisa McKenna (Dean)

2010-2016: Associate Professor Bill McGuiness

2006-2010: Professor Gerry Farrell

2004-2006: Professor Ruth Endacott

2002-2004: Ms Ella Lowe

2001-2002: Professor Alan Pearson

1999-2001: Professor Rhonda Nay

1997-1998: Ms June Buckenham

1982-1996: Professor Judith Parker

1974-1981: Patricia Slater