LIMS Fellows

The inaugural Bruce Stone Fellowship in Chemical Biology and Nicholas Hoogenraad AO Fellowship in Molecular Sciences were awarded in 2015.

Both fellowships are named after two long-serving leaders: Professor Bruce Stone was the foundation professor of Biochemistry from 1972 – 1989, succeeded by Professor Nicholas Hoogenraad AO, who later became the first Director of LIMS. Professor Hoogenraad retired in 2014.

Dr Donna Whelan

Dr Donna Whelan is a Bruce Stone Fellow in Chemical Biology.

Dr Whelan completed her PhD at Monash University, developing advanced microscopic and spectroscopic techniques for applications in biophysical research. During her PhD she constructed cutting-edge single molecule super-resolution microscopes and made extensive use of the Australian Synchrotron. She was a postdoctoral fellow at New York University’s School of Medicine under the supervision of Dr Eli Rothenberg, focussing on applying super resolution imaging to map the cellular repair pathway of DNA double strand breaks.

Dr Whelan joined LIMS in 2018. Based at the Bendigo campus, she is currently building a new, next-generation single molecule microscope, and exploring DNA damage and repair pathways. Her collaborations include research into the underlying mechanisms of host-virus interactions, neurodegeneration, and proteolysis.

Dr Whelan has 17 publications (11 first author) including in leading interdisciplinary and specialist journals (Nature Communications, Nucleic Acids Research, Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters). She prides herself on taking an active and conscientious role in the mentoring of undergraduate and PhD students, and in communicating science and its importance to the wider community. She has spoken at over 25 national and international conferences and has been awarded more than a dozen prizes and grants including the Vice Chancellor’s Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence and the Stephen Wilkins Thesis Medal.

For further information on Dr Donna Whelan's research, visit her lab page.

Dr Nicholas Reynolds

Dr Nicholas Reynolds is a Nicholas Hoogenraad AO Fellow in Molecular Sciences.

Dr Nicholas Reynolds graduated with a PhD from the University of Sheffield (UK) in 2009 before undertaking postdoctoral fellowships and research positions at the University of Zurich, CSIRO and the ARC Training Centre for Biodevices (Swinburne University of Technology).

Dr Reynolds joined LIMS in 2019. His research focuses on investigating the structures of self-assembled nanobiomaterials at length scales from the molecular to the macroscale. The discovered materials have applications in tissue engineering, biosensing, drug delivery and understanding neurodegenerative and other amyloid based diseases.

Dr Reynolds works closely with other academics, biotech companies and hospitals to promote the translation of fundamental research discoveries into devices and commercial products that have real-world impact. Dr Reynolds has published 31 research papers (12 first (or joint first) author, eight corresponding author, > 800 citations) in high impact journals including Nature Communications, Chemical Society Reviews, The Journal of the American Chemical Society and Advanced Functional Materials.

For further information on Dr Nicholas Reynold's research, visit his lab page.