Our team

The La Trobe Asia Team

Our office is in Room W104
Level 1, David Myers Building West

T: +61 3 9479 5414
E: asia@latrobe.edu.au
TW: @latrobeasia

Dr Bec Strating - Executive Director

La Trobe Asia’s Executive Director Dr Rebecca (Bec) Strating is an expert on the international politics of maritime disputes in the Indo-Pacific. Bec has extensive networks in the field of Politics and International Relations in Asia and Australia, particularly in maritime security. In 2020 and 2021, she was a Visiting Fellow at the Australian War College and a Non-Resident Fellow at the Perth US-Asia Centre. In 2019, she was an Affiliate researcher, Center for Australian and New Zealand Studies at Georgetown University, Washington DC, a Visiting Fellow at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, Singapore, and an Asian Studies Visiting Fellow, East West Center in Washington DC. In 2019, she was also selected as one of the Top 25 Young Women to Watch in Australian International Affairs.

Bec received her PhD in politics from Monash University in 2013, and in her academic career has published high quality research on the South China Sea disputes for academic and policy audiences. She has recently published a monograph Defending the Maritime Rules-Based Order: Regional States and the South China Sea disputes, East West Center (2020); “Norm contestation, statecraft and the South China Sea: defending maritime order”, The Pacific Review (2020); and “Strategy at sea: A Plan B for Australian Maritime Security?”, Security Challenges (2020). On the topic of maritime security and regional order, she has also published "Small power foreign policy in an era of Great Power Politics: testing the influence of China’s energy diplomacy in Southeast Asia", Asian Studies Review (2020); “East Asia’s Contested Security Order”, Australian Journal of Politics and History (2019, with Professor Nick Bisley); “Maritime disputes, sovereignty and the rules-based order in East Asia”, Australian Journal of Politics and History (2019); and “Maritime Territorialization, UNCLOS and the Timor Sea dispute”, Contemporary Southeast Asia (2018). She has also contributed to media discussions and public debates about maritime security issues and in 2019 was a keynote speaker at the Royal Australian Navy’s Seapower Conference, Sydney. In 2018, she won the Boyer Prize for best original article in the Australian Journal of International Affairs for her contribution on maritime disputes between Australia and Timor-Leste in the Timor Sea.

Bec contributes regularly to public debates about politics and foreign policy, writing for policy forums such as Lowy InterpreterAsia Maritime Transparency Initiative and Australian Strategic Policy Initiative, and is a commissioning editor for the Australian Institute of International Affairs’ publication Australian Outlook. She has provided expert comment for global and Australian media organisations including the ABC, The Age, BBC and Reuters, and has testified as an expert witness in Australian federal parliament. She is regularly invited to present at public and academic seminars and conferences, and is an advocate for greater diversity in Australian International Relations debates and discussions.

She tweets @becstrating.

Bec is available for research supervision in Australian politics, Australian Foreign Policy and International Relations of Asia.

T: +61 3 9479 6671

Professor Vivian Lin - inaugural Adjunct Professor

Professor Lin has a long history of public health service and research in a number of countries across the Asian region. She is currently the Executive Associate Dean of LKS Faculty of Medicine and Chair of Public Health at Hong Kong University, one of the highest-ranked universities in Asia.

Her previous roles include the Head of the School of Public Health (2000-2005) and Chair of Public Health (2000-2013) at La Trobe University, and she was the Director of Health Systems Division for the World Health Organization (WHO) for the Western Pacific Region from 2013-2018, where she led on the global priorities of universal health coverage and sustainable development goals.

E: vklin@hku.hk

Diana Heatherich

Senior Project Officer

T: +61 3 9479 5414
M: 0402 019 615
E: d.heatherich@latrobe.edu.au

Matt Smith

Digital Communications Producer

T: + 61 3 9479 5513
E: matthew.smith@latrobe.edu.au