Di Francis Memorial Community Health Award


one-off payment

Opening date

Closing date



Who is it for?

2nd year undergraduates, 3rd year undergraduates, Australian Citizen, Permanent Resident

Where is it available?



This award is administered by the Bendigo Tertiary Education Anniversary Foundation.

Di (Diane) Francis (deceased) was a graduate of the Northern District School of Nursing, an antecedent institution of the Bendigo campus of La Trobe University. She was a long serving member of the Faculty of Health Sciences in Bendigo and a strong community health advocate committed to assisting Bendigo nursing students undertaking placements in community health environments.

Ms Fran Sheean (now deceased), a former colleague of Ms Francis, has donated $5000 to fund five $1000 awards over a period of five years, to assist 2nd or 3rd year nursing students overcome disadvantage associated with undertaking compulsory clinical placements within the community health sector.

Are you eligible to apply?

To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, applicants must:

  • Be an Australian citizen or Permanent Resident.
  • Be a Bachelor of Nursing (Pre Registration) or Bachelor of Nursing/Bachelor of Midwifery student in their 2nd or 3rd year of undergraduate studies who is undertaking a compulsory clinical placement within the community health sector in 2021.

Recipients of the scholarship shall be selected by the University based on their:

  • Clinical placement location. Preference will be given to students whose clinical placement is remote and/or rural and/or in excess of 150 kms from their term address.
  • Ability to clearly illustrate how the award will be of benefit in offsetting the cost of their clinical placement.

Recipient obligations

The successful applicant will allow their name to be published as the recipient of the award and will agree to attend the Bendigo Prize Ceremony in 2021.

How to apply

Applications have now closed.

Who to contact for further information

Scholarships Office, scholarships@latrobe.edu.au