School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences Executive

The School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences is led by an executive team who are experts in both teaching and research.

Professor Wenny Rahayu

Professor Wenny Rahayu is the Dean of the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences. She is a Professor in Computer Science who specialises in database integration and big data management. Professor Rahayu has been a Chief Investigator on collaborative projects including Australian Research Council Linkage projects, the Australian Army, the Australian Academy of Science, and more recently CSIRO Next Generation graduate program. She has served as Lead assessor and international assessor of Smart Ideas projects, the New Zealand Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment Endeavour Fund since 2019. She has also participated in industry consulting and partnerships including projects funded through the Victorian Government Technology Innovation Program. Professor Rahayu has published three books and over 300 research papers.

Professor Luke Prendergast

Professor Luke Prendergast is Deputy Dean of the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, and Associate Dean, Domestic Partnerships. He is a statistician with research interests in robust statistics, meta-analysis and dimension reduction. Professor Prendergast collaborates with researchers across several disciplines, providing biostatistics expertise to many projects including in exercise for people with disability or injury, the effects of weight loss and childhood psychology. He is Director of La Trobe’s Statistics Consulting Platform and is a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council’s grant review panels. Professor Prendergast is a past President of the Victorian Branch of the Statistical Society of Australia and a member of editorial boards and statistics advisory boards for high impact journals, including Nutrients and Respirology.

Ms Renuka Eliezer

Ms Renuka Eliezer is Senior Manager in the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, with 20 years’ experience in the tertiary sector. Prior to joining La Trobe University, she worked in a Commonwealth Government department. Ms Eliezer is an alumna of La Trobe University and Swinburne University. In her role as Senior Manager, she leads the professional administrative and technical staff teams. She is primary adviser to the Dean, and the School Executive in relation to University policies, operations and business processes.

Associate Professor Eric Pardede

Associate Professor Eric Pardede is Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching in the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences. He has extensive experience as Undergraduate and Honours Course Coordinator, Project Coordinator and Industry-based Coordinator in the Department of Computer Science and Information Technology. He has taught a range of information technology subjects at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, and recently engaged in the research of data-centric processes in business and education. Associate Professor Pardede is a Senior Member of the Association of Computing Machinery and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He has published papers in database management, data analytics and information systems.

Associate Professor Marcel Jackson

Professor Marcel Jackson is Associate Dean, Research and Industry Engagement, and Director of Graduate Research in the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences. He is a mathematician, specialising in algebra and its interaction with theoretical computer science and logic. Professor Jackson was an Australian Research Council Future Fellow and lead Chief Investigator on two Australian Research Council Discovery projects in these areas, one as an Australian Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow. He has over 20 years’ experience teaching at all levels of tertiary mathematics and is an experienced supervisor of graduate research students across a range of mathematical disciplines. Professor Jackson is Treasurer of the Australian Algebra Group, a member of the Australian Mathematical Society Fellowships Committee and the ARC College of Experts, and has extensive editorial experience across both specialist and general mathematics journals.

Professor Naveen Chilamkurti

Professor Naveen Chilamkurti is Head of the Cybersecurity discipline and Associate Dean, International Partnerships in the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, and Director of the La Trobe Cybersecurity Innovation Node. He is an expert in cybersecurity, Internet of Things, blockchain, authentication, fog computing and secure communications. He has worked with various government-funded Cooperative Research Centres and secured 24 competitive grants including the SmartSAT Cooperative Research Centre, Data61/CSIRO, Oceania Cybersecurity Centre, Defence Science Institute, Australian Academy of Science and Optus telecommunications. He has published over 320 research publications and edited nine books with Elsevier, Springer, IGI-Global and NOVA publishers.

Read our Statement of Strategic Intent.