La Trobe University's Academic Board consists of approximately 100 members and is governed by the La Trobe University ActAcademic Board Statute and Academic Board Regulations.

Every attempt is made to ensure that the Board has an equal number of male and female members and both regional and metropolitan areas are properly represented. The Board also includes six elected student members who represent postgraduates and undergraduates from both regional and metropolitan campuses.

General documents



The Chair of Academic Board is Professor James Walker, who commenced his term of office in February 2022. Professor Walker is a Professor of Language Diversity in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Professor Walker, as Chair of Academic Board, is an ex officio member of Council and the following University Committees:

  • Estates Development and Infrastructure Committee
  • Finance and Resources Committee

Deputy Chair

The Deputy Chair of Academic Board is Professor Bircan Erbas, who commenced her two-year term of office in February 2022. Professor Erbas is a Professor in the School of Psychology and Public Health.