La Trobe joins SGroup

La Trobe has been welcomed as an associate member of the SGroup European Universities Network, the first Australian university to join the group.

The SGroup is a not-for-profit association of 36 outstanding universities from 20 countries that works to improve member universities’ international visibility. The network expands collaboration opportunities, develops strategic alliances and builds intercultural understanding while adapting to educational and societal needs in creative and innovative ways.

La Trobe Vice-Chancellor Professor Dewar said the University looked forward to collaborating with other SGroup members to advance La Trobe’s international links in academic research, strategic partnerships and exchange programs for students and staff.

“Membership of SGroup enables La Trobe to draw on expertise and experience of fellow members from across the globe with long and deep knowledge of international higher education,” Professor Dewar said.

“This valuable new connection with a network of strong European and overseas Higher Education Institutions with excellent research and teaching profiles will further strengthen our international capabilities, and enhance our global competitiveness,” Professor Dewar said.

SGroup members include the University of Kent, University of Gothenburg, Ghent University, the University of Trieste and the University of Cantabria.

La Trobe’s membership commences on January 1, 2020.

Media Contact: Kathryn Powley | | 9479 3491 | 0456 764 371