La Trobe experts on education topics

Need an expert on exam stress, school starting age, or teaching children to read? Or perhaps on the government’s new funding for three-year-old kindergarten programs? Below is a list of La Trobe University experts who are available on these and more education topics.

Better access to three-year-old kindergarten
*The benefits of the government’s new funding for three-year-old kindergarten programs – starting in 2020 in six council areas across Victoria
*Neurological benefits of early childhood education
*How earlier/more time in early childhood education will help with early identification and support for children with learning issues

Ms Leanne Grogan, Lecturer, Early Childhood Education
l.grogan@latrobe.edu.au, mobile: 03 5444 7527

School starting age
*The important factors to consider when deciding when children should start school
*Pros and cons of early and late school starting age

Dr Catherine Hamm, Senior Lecturer in Education
c.hamm@latrobe.edu.au, mobile: 0408 968 756

Teaching children to read/speak
*Critical importance of early literacy development, and how to achieve best results
*How the teaching-to-read approaches currently used in most schools are detrimental to students
*Links between illiterate young people and anxiety/depression/contact with juvenile justice system
*Importance of developing strong oral language skills in early childhood

Professor Pamela Snow, Head, Rural Health School
p.snow@latrobe.edu.au, mobile: 0458 377 253

Choosing a university course
*Importance of ATARs
*Factors that young people weigh up when making course decisions

Dr Sara James, Senior Lecturer, Sociology
s.james@latrobe.edu.au, phone 9479 2993

Education policy
*Teacher education
*Shortage of secondary teachers in rural and regional areas
*Education policy

Associate Professor Joanna Barbousas, Head, Department of Education
j.barbousas@latrobe.edu.au, mobile: 0416 289 040

Inclusive education
*Educating students with a disability
*Developing inclusive communities and schools
*Navigating the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

Professor Teresa Iacono, Researcher, Education
t.iacono@latrobe.edu.au, mobile: 0407 363 653


Media contact: Kate O’Connor – k.o’connor@latrobe.edu.au – 5444 7415 / 0436 189 629

Find an expert

Search our experts database.