Chancellor, the Hon. John Brumby AO

Method of appointment

Elected as Chancellor by Council effective 29 March 2019.

Membership Tenure

Appointed 29 March 2019 to 28 March 2022
Re-appointed 29 March 2022 to 28 March 2025



Current committees

  • Finance and Resources Committee
  • Corporate Governance, Risk, Internal Audit and Safety Committee
  • Human Resources Planning Committee
  • Estates Development and Infrastructure Committee
  • Foundation Committee
  • Recovery and Re-set Committee

Professional background/experience

The Hon. John Brumby AO is Chancellor of La Trobe University and a Professor (Honorary) at the University of Melbourne. He is well known for his roles as the former Premier of Victoria (2007 to 2010) and Treasurer (2000 to 2007), as well as his time in Federal Parliament (1983 to 1990) during the Hawke Government.

Since retiring from politics in 2010, John Brumby has taken on a number of roles in the not-for-profit and business sectors, including as Chair of the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust, Citywide Service Solutions and the Fred Hollows Foundation. He is also the inaugural Chair of the Victorian Government's $2 billion Breakthrough Victoria Fund.

Mr Brumby was awarded an Order of Australia in 2017 for distinguished service to the Parliament of Victoria, to economic management and medical biotechnology innovation, to improved rural and regional infrastructure, and to the community.

He is the author of a number of articles and books, including the 2015 book The Long Haul: Lessons from Public Life (Melbourne University Publishing).