Our People

Academic staff


Dr Sophie Hill

Senior Research Fellow, Head of Centre for Health Communication and Participation and Coordinating Editor, Cochrane Consumers and Communication

9479 1941


Dr Rebecca Ryan

Research Fellow, Deputy Coordinating Editor, Cochrane Consumers and Communication

9479 3274


Anneliese Synnot

Research Fellow and Editor, Cochrane Consumers and Communication

9479 1086


Bronwen Merner

Research Officer and Managing Editor, Cochrane Consumers and Communication

9479 5327


Dianne Lowe

Research Officer, Cochrane Consumers and Communication

9479 2626


Anne Parkhill

Information Specialist, Cochrane Consumers and Communication



Jessica Kaufman

Research Officer, Communicate to Vaccinate project

9479 6013


Louisa Walsh

Research Officer

9479 5779


Search for staff

Administrative staff

KowLin LeongSenior Administrator, Centre for Health Communication and Participation9479 5779k.leong@latrobe.edu.au

Search for staff

Honorary Associates

Dr Claudia Meyer, RDNS Institute, Victoria

Dr Michael Summers, Victoria

Dr Artur Manuel Muloliwa, Ministry of Health, Mozambique

Search for staff

Higher Degree by Research students

Current students

Rachael Hyder (Master of Public Health candidate): Communicating Hearing test diagnosis information to parents

Peterson Junius Muriithi Nyaga (Doctor of Public Health candidate): Regulation of private medical clinics in Kenya: Insights from regulators and directions for improved regulatory outcomes

Jack Nunn (PhD candidate): Genomics Research and Involving People

Molly O’Sullivan (Master of Public Health candidate): Investigating health care communication as a component of the clinical practice guidelines relevant to young Australians

Anneliese Synnot (PhD candidate): Stakeholder involvement to set priorities for health communication and participation research

Past students

Jessica Kaufman (PhD candidate): How do we know what works? Identifying and prioritising stakeholder-relevant outcomes to measure the effects of communication for childhood vaccination

Dianne Lowe (PhD candidate): A mixed method exploration of the prevalence, health burden and medicines-related communication experiences of multimorbidity among the working-age population with musculoskeletal conditions

Bronwen Merner (PhD candidate): Carers’ contributions to the patient safety of their relatives in acute hospital settings

Claudia Meyer (awarded PhD in 2015): Translating falls prevention knowledge for community-dwelling older people living with dementia and their carers–what works?

Ania Sieracka (awarded Master of Public Health in 2016): Consumer participation in quality and safety in Australian hospitals

Search for staff