School Graduate Research Coordinators

The role of School Graduate Research Coordinators and Graduate Research Coordinators

The School Graduate Research Coordinator (SGRC) is a School level role. The responsibility of the role includes:

  • Conducting approvals on behalf of the Head of School
  • Chairing School scholarship rankings
  • Reviewing and recommendation of examiner's reports
  • Ensuring that progress and hurdles are met
  • Reviewing problems, grievances and initiating show-cause procedures
  • Managing any school level funding schemes for graduate researchers
  • Representing GRCs on key committees
  • Organising school Three Minute Thesis (3MT) heats

The Graduate Research Coordinator (GRC) is a departmental or discipline focused role. The responsibility of the role includes:

  • Being aware of departmental knowledge of HDR policy
  • Providing pastoral care for student cohort
  • Reviewing enquiries and applications
  • Assessing scholarship rankings and recommendations
  • Ensuring Research Progress Panels (RPP) take place
  • Ensuring department provides induction and intellectual environment
  • Promoting opportunities such as RED programs and industry internships

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce.
School Graduate Research Coordinators

School

Name

Email

La Trobe Business School

Jillian Cavanagh

j.cavanagh@latrobe.edu.au

La Trobe Law School

Emma Henderson

e.henderson@latrobe.edu.au

School of Education

Dorothy Smith

dorothy.smith@latrobe.edu.au

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Nicola Stern

N.Stern@latrobe.edu.au

College of Science, Health and Engineering.
School Graduate Research Coordinators

School

Name

Email

La Trobe Rural Health School

Peter O'Meara

p.omeara@latrobe.edu.au

School of Allied Health

Jenni Oates

j.oates@latrobe.edu.au

School of Applied Systems BiologyJanet Wheelerjanet.wheeler@latrobe.edu.au

School of Cancer Medicine

John Mariadason

john.mariadason@onjcri.org.au

School of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

Justin Wang

dh.wang@latrobe.edu.au

School of Life Sciences

John Morgan

j.morgan@latrobe.edu.au

School of Molecular Sciences

Adam Mechler

a.mechler@latrobe.edu.au

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Yvonne Wells

y.wells@latrobe.edu.au

School of Psychology and Public Health

Lynette Evans

l.evans@latrobe.edu.au

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce.
Graduate Research Coordinators

Department

Discipline

Name

Email

Accounting

 

Kamran Ahmed

k.ahmed@latrobe.edu.au

Archaeology and History

Archaeology

Keir Strickland

K.Strickland@latrobe.edu.au

Archaeology and History

History

Timothy Minchin

t.minchin@latrobe.edu.au

Archaeology and History

History

Charles Fahey
(Bendigo)

c.fahey@latrobe.edu.au

Communication and Media

 

Steiner Ellingsen

s.ellingsen@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English

English

Sue Thomas

s.thomas@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English

Media Arts

Terrie Waddell

t.waddell@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English

Theatre and Drama

Kim Baston

k.baston@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and EnglishVisual ArtsVincent Alessiv.alessi@latrobe.edu.au

Education

 

Dorothy Smith

dorothy.smith@latrobe.edu.au

Education (Bendigo)

 

Noel Meyers

n.meyers@latrobe.edu.au

Finance and Economics

 

Jing Zhao

j.zhao@latrobe.edu.au

Languages and Linguistics

 

Rhiannon Evans

r.evans@latrobe.edu.au

Marketing and Management

Management

Jillian Cavanagh

j.cavanagh@latrobe.edu.au

Marketing and Management

Marketing and Tourism

Jennifer Laing

jennifer.laing@latrobe.edu.au

Outdoor Environmental Education

 

Ruth Lawrence

r.lawrence@latobe.edu.au

Politics and Philosophy

Philosophy, Gender Studies

Dirk Tomsa

d.tomsa@latrobe.edu.au

Social Inquiry

Planning

Julie Rudner

j.rudner@latrobe.edu.au

Social Inquiry

Social Inquiry, Sociology and Anthropology

Anthony Moran

a.moran@latrobe.edu.au

College of Science, Health and Engineering.
Graduate Research Coordinators

Department

Discipline

Name

Email

Animal, Plant and Soil Sciences

 

Mathew Lewsey

M.Lewsey@latrobe.edu.au

Australian Institute for Primary Care in Ageing

 

Yvonne Wells

y.wells@latrobe.edu.au

Australian Research Centre for Sex Health and Society

 

Christopher Fisher

c.fisher2@latrobe.edu.au

Biochemistry Suresh MathivananS.Mathivanan@latrobe.edu.au

Bouverie Centre

 

Sue Dyson

s.dyson@latrobe.edu.au

Chemistry

 

Brian Smith

brian.smith@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

Orthoptics, Speech Pathology and Audiology

Tanya Serry

t.serry@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

Occupational Therapy

Leeanne Carey

l.carey@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

Social Work and Social Policy

Margarita Frederico

m.frederico@latrobe.edu.au

Computer Science and Information Technology

 

Justin Wang

dh.wang@latrobe.edu.au

Dentistry and Oral Health

 

Virginia Dickson-Swift

v.dickson-swift@latrobe.edu.au

Ecology, Environment and Evolution

 Susan Hoebee

s.hoebee@latrobe.edu.au

Ecology, Environment and Evolution

 Peter Greenp.green@latrobe.edu.au

Engineering

 

David Tay

d.tay@latrobe.edu.au

Genetics Adam Hart a.hart@latrobe.edu.au

Judith Lumley Centre

 

Touran Shafiei

Amanda Cooklin

t.shafiei@latrobe.edu.au

a.cooklin@latrobe.edu.au

La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science

 

Adam Mechler

a.mechler@latrobe.edu.au

Mathematics and Statistics

 

Andriy Olenko

a.olenko@latrobe.edu.au

Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre

 

TBC

TBC

Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre

 

Glynda Kinsella

g.kinsella@latrobe.edu.au

Pharmacy and Applied Science Rod Greenrod.green@latrobe.edu.au

Physics

 

Narelle Brack

n.brack@latrobe.edu.au

Physiology, Anatomy and Microbiology

Physiology and Anatomy

Bert De Groef

b.degroef@latrobe.edu.au

Physiology, Anatomy and Microbiology

Microbiology

Karla Helbig

k.helbig@latrobe.edu.au

Psychology and Counselling

Clinical Neuropsychology

Glynda Kinsella

g.kinsella@latrobe.edu.au

Public Health

 

George Liu

c.liu@latrobe.edu.au

Public Health (professional doctorates only)

 

Sally Fawkes

s.fawkes@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Physiotherapy

Jodie McClelland

j.mcclelland@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Physiotherapy

Annemarie LeeA.Lee3@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Podiatry, Prosthetics and Orthotics, Exercise Science

Karl Landorf

k.landorf@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Dietetics and Human Nutrition

Audrey Tierneya.tierney@latrobe.edu.au

Rural Nursing and Midwifery

 

Carol McKinstry

c.mckinstry@latrobe.edu.au

School of Cancer Medicine

 

John Mariadason

john.mariadason@onjcri.org.au

Regional Graduate Research Coordinators

CampusName Email
Albury-Wodonga CampusDr Jennifer Jonesj.jones@latrobe.edu.au
Mildura and Bendigo CampusDr Evelien Speltene.spelten@latrobe.edu.au
Shepparton CampusDr Lucinda Aberdeenl.aberdeen@latrobe.edu.au