Directors of Graduate Research (DGRs) and Graduate Research Coordinators (GRCs)

The role of DGRs and GRCs

The Director of Graduate Research (DGR) is a School level role. The responsibility of the role includes:

  • Conducting approvals on behalf of the Head of School
  • Chairing School scholarship rankings
  • Reviewing and recommendation of examiner's reports
  • Ensuring that progress and hurdles are met
  • Reviewing problems, grievances and initiating show-cause procedures
  • Managing any school level funding schemes for graduate researchers
  • Representing GRCs on key committees
  • Organising school Three Minute Thesis (3MT) heats

The Graduate Research Coordinator (GRC) is a departmental or discipline focused role. The responsibility of the role includes:

  • Being aware of departmental knowledge of HDR policy
  • Providing pastoral care for student cohort
  • Reviewing enquiries and applications
  • Assessing scholarship rankings and recommendations
  • Ensuring milestone meetings take place
  • Ensuring department provides induction and intellectual environment
  • Promoting opportunities such as RED programs and industry internships

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce - DGRs

School

Name

Email

La Trobe Business School

Gordon Boyce

g.boyce@latrobe.edu.au

La Trobe Law School

Emma Henderson

e.henderson@latrobe.edu.au

School of Education

Dorothy Smith

d.smith@latrobe.edu.au

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Nicola Stern

HUSS.GRC@latrobe.edu.au

School of Humanities and Social Sciences (deputy)

Hester Joyceh.joyce@latrobe.edu.au

College of Science, Health and Engineering - DGRs

School

Name

Email

La Trobe Rural Health School

Brett Gordon

B.Gordon@latrobe.edu.au

School of Allied Health

Jodie McClelland

j.mclelland@latrobe.edu.au

School of Applied Systems BiologyJanet Wheelerjanet.wheeler@latrobe.edu.au

School of Cancer Medicine

John Mariadason

john.mariadason@onjcri.org.au

School of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

Marcel Jackson

m.g.Jackson@latrobe.edu.au

School of Life Sciences

John Morgan

j.morgan@latrobe.edu.au

School of Molecular Sciences

Adam Mechler

a.mechler@latrobe.edu.au

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Yvonne Wells

y.wells@latrobe.edu.au

School of Psychology and Public Health

Maarten van den Buuse

m.vandenbuuse@latrobe.edu.au

Regional Graduate Research Liaison

CampusName Email
Albury-Wodonga CampusDr Jennifer Jonesj.jones@latrobe.edu.au
Mildura and Bendigo CampusDr Evelien Speltene.spelten@latrobe.edu.au
Shepparton CampusDr Lucinda Aberdeenl.aberdeen@latrobe.edu.au

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce - GRCs

Department

Discipline

Name

Email

Accounting and Data Analytics

Accounting and Analytics

Balachandran Muniandy

B.Muniandy@latrobe.edu.au

Archaeology and History

Archaeology

Keir Strickland

K.Strickland@latrobe.edu.au

Archaeology and History

History

Timothy Minchin

t.minchin@latrobe.edu.au

Archaeology and History (Bendigo)

History

Ruth Ford

r.ford@latrobe.edu.au

Communications and Media

 

Nasya Bahfen

n.bahfen@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English

English

Juliane Roemhild

j.roemhild@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English

Media Arts

Felicity Collins

f.collins@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English

Theatre and Drama

Kim Baston

k.baston@latrobe.edu.au

Creative Arts and English (Bendigo)Visual ArtsJacqueline MillnerJ.Millner@latrobe.edu.au

Education (Bundoora)

 

Donna Starks

d.starks@latrobe.edu.au

Education (Bundoora)

 Dorothy Smithd.smith@latrobe.edu.au

Education (Bendigo)

 

Margaret Robertson

M.Robertson@latrobe.edu.au

Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Marketing Andrew GilmoreAndrew.Gilmore@latrobe.edu.au

Finance and Economics

 

Jing Zhao

j.zhao@latrobe.edu.au

Languages and Linguistics

Classics and Ancient History and Greek Sudies

Rhiannon Evans

r.evans@latrobe.edu.au

Languages and Linguistics

European LanguagesLaura Tolton Seabral.tolton@latrobe.edu.au

Languages and Linguistics

Asian LanguagesYangbin Chenyangbin.chen@latrobe.edu.au

Languages and Linguistics

LinguisticsMarija Tabainm.tabain@latrobe.edu.au

Management, Sport and Tourism

 

Jennifer Laing

Jennifer.Laing@latrobe.edu.au

Outdoor Education (Bendigo)

 

Ruth Lawrence

r.lawrence@latobe.edu.au

Politics and Philosophy

Philosophy, Gender Studies

Dirk Tomsa

d.tomsa@latrobe.edu.au

Social Inquiry (Bendigo)

Planning

Julie Rudner

j.rudner@latrobe.edu.au

Social Inquiry

Social Inquiry, Sociology and Anthropology

Anthony Moran

a.moran@latrobe.edu.au

College of Science, Health and Engineering - GRCs

Department

Discipline

Name

Email

Animal, Plant and Soil Sciences

 

Mathew Lewsey

M.Lewsey@latrobe.edu.au

Australian Institute for Primary Care in Ageing

 

Yvonne Wells

y.wells@latrobe.edu.au

Australian Research Centre for Sex Health and Society

 

Christopher Fisher

c.fisher2@latrobe.edu.au

Biochemistry Suresh MathivananS.Mathivanan@latrobe.edu.au
BiochemistryDeputy memberRobyn Murphyr.murphy@latrobe.edu.au

Bouverie Centre

 

Peter McKenzie

p.mckenzie@latrobe.edu.au

Chemistry

 

Evan Robertson

e.robertson@latrobe.edu.au

Centre for Alcohol Policy Research (CAPR) George Liuc.liu@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

Orthoptics, Speech Pathology and Audiology

Tanya Serry

t.serry@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

Occupational Therapy

Leeanne Carey

l.carey@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

La Trobe Rural Health SchoolNerida Hyettn.hyett@latrobe.edu.au

Community and Clinical Allied Health

Social Work and Social Policy

Margarita Frederico

m.frederico@latrobe.edu.au

Computer Science and Information Technology

 

Abdun Mahmood

A.Mahmood@latrobe.edu.au

Dentistry and Oral Health

 Brett Gordon

b.gordon@latrobe.edu.au

Ecology, Environment and Evolution

 Susan Hoebee

s.hoebee@latrobe.edu.au

Ecology, Environment and Evolution

 Martin Steinbauerm.steinbauer@latrobe.edu.au

Engineering

 

Song Wang

song.wang@latrobe.edu.au

Genetics Adam Hart a.hart@latrobe.edu.au

Judith Lumley Centre

 

Touran Shafiei

t.shafiei@latrobe.edu.au

John Richards Centre for Rural Ageing Research Tshepo RasekabaT.Rasekaba@latrobe.edu.au

La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science

 

Adam Mechler

a.mechler@latrobe.edu.au

Mathematics and Statistics

 

Marcel Jackson

m.g.jackson@latrobe.edu.au

Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre

 

Ewen Silvester

e.silvester@latrobe.edu.au

Nursing (general) Bev Copnell b.copnell@latrobe.edu.au

Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre

 Philippe Chouinard

p.chouinard@latrobe.edu.au

Pharmacy and Applied Science Rod Greenrod.green@latrobe.edu.au

Physics

 

Narelle Brack

n.brack@latrobe.edu.au

Physiology, Anatomy and Microbiology

Physiology and Anatomy

Bert De Groef

b.degroef@latrobe.edu.au

Physiology, Anatomy and Microbiology

Microbiology

Karla Helbig

k.helbig@latrobe.edu.au

Psychology and Counselling

Clinical Neuropsychology

Philippe Chouinard

p.chouinard@latrobe.edu.au

Psychology and Counselling Lynette Evansl.evans@latrobe.edu.au

Public Health

 

George Liu

c.liu@latrobe.edu.au

Public Health (professional doctorates only)

 

Sally Fawkes

s.fawkes@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Physiotherapy

Maryam Zoghi

Adam Semciw

M.Zoghi@latrobe.edu.au

A.Semciw@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Podiatry, Prosthetics and Orthotics, Exercise Science

Karl Landorf

k.landorf@latrobe.edu.au

Rehabilitation, Nutrition and Sport

Dietetics and Human Nutrition

George Moschonisg.moschonis@latrobe.edu.au

Rural Nursing and Midwifery

 

Brett Gordon

b.gordon@latrobe.edu.au

School of Cancer Medicine

 

John Mariadason

john.mariadason@onjcri.org.au