Queen's Birthday Honours 2020

La Trobe University offers warm congratulations to all those in the La Trobe community who have been recognised in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

These significant contributions extend across the fields of medicine, nursing, community health, engineering, science, agriculture, horticulture, education and visual arts.

Nineteen individuals, including current and former staff, alumni, and a member of the La Trobe University Council received honours.

La Trobe staff members:

Dr Susan Mayes AM was recognised for significant service to physiotherapy, particularly to professional ballet dancers.

Professor Christopher Stoltz AM was recognised for significant service to engineering, and to charitable and emergency medical organisations.

La Trobe University Council member:

Ms Christine Christian AO was recognised for distinguished service to the financial and investment sectors, to women in business, and through support for emerging entrepreneurs.

Full list:

Officer in the Order of Australia (AO)

  • Ms Christine Christian AO

Member in the Order of Australia (AM)

  • Dr Alagappa Arumugam AM
  • Dr Rebecca Johnson AM
  • Dr Susan Mayes AM
  • Professor Christopher Stoltz AM
  • Ms Catherine Wood AM

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

  • Mrs Maria Boland OAM
  • Mrs Maree Duffield OAM
  • Professor Graham McDowell OAM
  • Mr David McKenzie OAM
  • Ms Julie Millowick OAM
  • Mr Scott Pape OAM
  • Ms Elizabeth Telford OAM
  • Mr Richard Thompson OAM

Public Service Medal (PSM)

  • Miss Christina Asquini PSM
  • Dr Graeme Emonson PSM

Bar to the Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC)

  • Ms Jennifer Lumsden CSC

Australian Police Medal (APM)

  • Superintendent Jenny Wilson APM

Australian Corrections Medal

  • Mr Mario Nuzzo

Media Contact: Kate O'Connor – k.o'connor@latrobe.edu.au - 0436 189 629

Image: Professor Chris Stoltz