La Trobe experts available this summer

A number of La Trobe University academic experts are happy to talk to the media over the summer break.

Summer's here! La Trobe is shut for the holidays from December 23, and re-opens on January 4.

During the break, media are welcome to contact the following La Trobe academics directly.

BUSHFIRE SAFETY, RECOVERY

  • Bushfire season, risks, planned burns and summer in Australia, bushfire recovery, impacts of bushfire on flora and fauna 
    Professor Michael Clarke, La Trobe University School of Life Sciences 
    Mobile: 0427 368 851 / Email: m.clarke@latrobe.edu.au
  • Bushfire preparedness, particularly in areas that have not traditionally experienced such events, recovering from the trauma of a bushfire event 
    Adjunct Professor Jim McLennan, La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health 
    Mobile: 0438 096 548 / Email: j.mclennan@latrobe.edu.au
  • Historical attitudes to Aboriginal fire management, climate change
    Associate Professor Liz Conor, La Trobe University Department of Archaeology and History  
    Mobile: 0424 132 605 / Email: l.conor@latrobe.edu.au

CONSPIRACY THEORIES, ‘ANTI-VAXXERS’

  • How conspiracy theories and ideologies take hold, conspiracy theories related to COVID-19 and vaccination  
    Dr Mathew Marques, La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health 
    Mobile: 0405 507 727 / Email: M.Marques@latrobe.edu.au

WORK-LIFE BALANCE, BUSINESS, SOCIAL MEDIA

  • Finding work in 2021, preparing for a return to the office or the continuation of working from home, the impacts of working over the holiday period, the importance of recharging your batteries 
    Associate Professor Jodi Oakman, Head of the Centre for Ergonomics and Human Factors at La Trobe 
    Mobile: 0447 152 944 / Email: j.oakman@latrobe.edu.au
  • (Please note, Associate Professor Oakman is NOT available after January 8 2021)

  • Brand, political and celebrity social media trends in 2021, taking a break from social media over the holiday period, preparing your online presence for employment or for your new business 
    Lecturer Natalie McKenna, La Trobe University Department of Politics, Media and Philosophy 
    Mobile: 0420 378 026 / Email: n.mckenna@latrobe.edu.au
  • Encouraging and supporting a small business boom over the holiday period, work practices for entrepreneurs and seniorpreneaurs over the holiday season
    Professor Alex Maritz, La Trobe University Business School 
    Email: a.maritz@latrobe.edu.au

REFLECTING ON 2020 AND WELCOMING 2021 WITH A POSITIVE MINDSET

  • New Year's resolutions, enhancing resilience, wellbeing and positivity in the face of pandemic
    Adjunct Lecturer Ros Ben-Moshe, La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health 
    Mobile: 0413 592 030 / Email: r.ben-moshe@latrobe.edu.au

LOCAL AND INTERNATIONAL POLITICS

  • Australian politics, Australia-China relations
    Adjunct Professor Tony Walker, La Trobe University Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow 
    Mobile: 0416 258 776 / Email: antonyhwalker@gmail.com
  • Australian foreign policy, maritime disputes in the Indo-Pacific, China-Australia relations
    Dr Bec Strating, Executive Director, La Trobe Asia  
    Mobile: 0400 287 758 / Email: b.strating@latrobe.edu.au

BACK TO SCHOOL, READING

  • Improving your child’s reading abilities before they head back to school, what to look for in how your child’s school is approaching reading instruction
    Pamela Snow, Professor of Cognitive Psychology, La Trobe School of Education (Bendigo-based) 
    Mobile: 0458 377 253 / Email: p.snow@latrobe.edu.au

HEALTH, DIET, ALCOHOL, SPORT AND EXERCISE

  • The meaning of food in people’s lives, how food embodies cultural values, sustainable consumption, veganism/vegetarianism
    Dr Matt Ruby, La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health 
    Mobile: 0490 854 736 / Email: m.ruby@latrobe.edu.au
  • Maintaining a healthy diet over the holiday period, New Year diet resolutions
    Graduate Researcher Katerina Sarapis, La Trobe University Department of Nutrition  
    Mobile: 0405 818 832 / Email: K.Sarapis@latrobe.edu.au
  • What future foods will be on your Christmas table in 2050?
    Dr Kim Johnson, La Trobe Institute for Agriculture and Food 
    Mobile: 0418 858 465 / Email: K.Johnson@latrobe.edu.au
  • Trends in alcohol consumption and harms during the festive season
    Dr Sarah Callinan, La Trobe University’s Centre for Alcohol Policy Research 
    Mobile: 0419 574 781 / Email: S.Callinan@latrobe.edu.au
  • How we can keep active, healthy and eating well over the summer period, and why it's important
    Dr Steve Cousins, Lecturer Community and Allied Health (Bendigo based) 
    Mobile: 0450 318 190 / Email stephen.cousins@latrobe.edu.au
    (Please note, Dr Cousins is NOT available between December 24 to 28 2020)
  • Easing back into group sports and avoiding injury, 2021 exercise trends, keeping fit over the holidays
    Professor Kay Crossley, La Trobe University Sport and Exercise Medicine Research Centre 
    Mobile: 0411 055 738 / Email: k.crossley@latrobe.edu.au

AGED CARE AND AGEING

  • Aged care, especially rural aged care, ageing, older people
    Professor Irene Blackberry, Professor, Chair and Director, John Richards Centre for Rural Ageing Research (Albury-Wodonga-based)  
    Mobile: 0410 626 880 / Email: i.blackberry@latrobe.edu.au
  • Age-friendly communities, with a focus on rural ageing, social participation and volunteering
    Dr Rachel Winterton, John Richards Centre for Rural Ageing Research (Bendigo-based) 
    Email: r.winterton@latrobe.edu.au

WOMEN’S HISTORY, ISSUES RELATED TO WOMEN

  • Feminism, motherhood, attitudes towards body image
    Associate Professor Liz Conor, La Trobe University Department of Archaeology and History  
    Mobile: 0424 132 605 / Email: l.conor@latrobe.edu.au

AGRIBUSINESS

  • Agribusiness, the impact of climate change, agriculture and water policy, drought recovery, fires and floods 
    Dr Tim Clune, Lecturer in Agribusiness, La Trobe Business School (Albury-Wodonga based) 
    Mobile: 0455 552 323 / Email: t.clune@latrobe.edu.au

ANIMALS/PETS

  • Looking after your dogs and cats during Summer (including during fireworks), adopting pets as Christmas presents

    Professor Pauleen Bennett, Head of Department Psychology and Counselling (Bendigo based)
    Mobile: 0427 700 260 / Email: pauleen.bennett@latrobe.edu.au

The media team will be back and happy to help in the New Year!

Find an expert

Search our experts database.