La Trobe Summer/Christmas Expert Alert

La Trobe University has academic experts, available to talk to the media during the summer period on the following topics (please note the University is shut December 24 to January 1).

WHAT LIES AHEAD IN 2020?

  • Social media and technology
    Dr Stanley Shanapinda, Research Fellow in Computer Science and Information Technology at the Optus La Trobe Cyber Security Research Hub
    Mobile: 0416 304 394 / Email: s.shanapinda@latrobe.edu.au
  • Australian politics
    Tony Walker, La Trobe University Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow & Adjunct Professor
    Mobile: 0416 258 776 / Email: antonyhwalker@gmail.com

BUSHFIRE/CLIMATE CHANGE

  • Bushfire season, risks, planned burns and summer in Australia
    Professor Mike Clarke, La Trobe University School of Life Sciences
    Mobile: 0427 368 851 / Email: m.clarke@latrobe.edu.au
  • Bushfire preparedness, particularly in areas that have not traditionally experienced such events
    Adjunct Professor Jim McLennan, La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health
    Mobile: 0438 096 548 / Email: j.mclennan@latrobe.edu.au
  • The impacts of climate change on bushfire risk, frequency, intensity and effects of bushfire on biodiversity
    Dr Jim Radford, Principal Research Fellow in the La Trobe Research Centre for Future Landscapes
    Mobile: 0400 815 811 / Email: j.radford@latrobe.edu.au
  • Service outages, network congestion, communications infrastructure and ‘fire warning’ alerts in bushfires
    Dr Stanley Shanapinda, Research Fellow in Computer Science and Information Technology at the Optus La Trobe Cyber Security Research Hub
    Mobile: 0416 304 394 / Email: s.shanapinda@latrobe.edu.au
  • Existential threats, in particular climate change and nuclear weapons
    Joseph Camilleri, La Trobe University Emeritus Professor in Politics
    Mobile: 0448 002 483 / Email: j.camilleri@latrobe.edu.au

DIET

  • The meanings of food in people’s lives, how food embodies cultural values, veganism/vegetarianism
    Dr Matt Ruby, La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health
    Mobile: 0490 854 736 / Email: m.ruby@latrobe.edu.au

EDUCATION/KIDS/FAMILY

  • Students starting tertiary education in 2020 and other education issues
    Associate Professor Buly Cardak, La Trobe University Business School
    Email: b.cardak@latrobe.edu.au
  • The importance of monitoring/controlling children’s screen-time over the holiday season & the neurological benefits of early childhood education, the benefits of State Government funding for three year old kindergarten programs starting in 2020 in six council areas across Victoria
    Leanne Grogan, La Trobe University School of Education
    Email: l.grogan@latrobe.edu.au
  • Improving your child’s reading abilities before they head back to school, what to look for in how your child’s school is approaching reading instruction
    Pamela Snow, Professor of Cognitive Psychology La Trobe School of Education (Bendigo-based)
    Mobile: 0458 377 253 / Email: p.snow@latrobe.edu.au

WORK-LIFE BALANCE

  • Working over the holiday season, the importance of recharging your batteries
    Associate Professor Jodi Oakman, La Trobe University Centre for Ergonomics and Human Factors
    Mobile: 0447 152 944 / Email: j.oakman@latrobe.edu.au
  • Work practices for entrepreneurs and seniorpreneaurs over the holiday season
    Professor Alex Maritz, La Trobe University Business School
    Email: a.maritz@latrobe.edu.au

TRENDS IN ALCOHOL/DRUG USE

  • Alcohol consumption and harms during the festive season
    Dr Jason (Heng) Jiang, La Trobe University Centre for Alcohol Policy Research
    Mobile: 0430 067 296 / Email: jason.jiang@latrobe.edu.au
  • Effects of drugs on the brain, drug use at music festivals, drug addiction/deaths, pill testing
    Professor Maarten van den Buuse – La Trobe University School of Psychology and Public Health
    Mobile: 0402 025 097 / Email: m.vandenbuuse@latrobe.edu.au

EXERCISE/SPORT

  • 2020 exercise trends, keeping fit over the holidays
    Dr Christian Barton, La Trobe University Sport and Exercise Medicine Research Centre
    Mobile: 0403 012 914 / Email: c.barton@latrobe.edu.au

RELIGION

  • Religion in Australia and internationally, in particular Christianity and Islam
    Joseph Camilleri, La Trobe University Emeritus Professor in Politics
    Mobile: 0448 002 483 / Email: j.camilleri@latrobe.edu.au

Find an expert

Search our experts database.