John Brumby AO – our new Chancellor

Former Victorian Premier and Treasurer the Honourable John Brumby AO is the new Chancellor of La Trobe University.

Mr Brumby was today installed into the role at a gala ceremony in Bendigo, becoming the eighth Chancellor to take on the vital governance position in the University’s 52 year history.

Officials at the ceremony included Governor of Victoria Linda Dessau AC, State Government Ministers Gayle Tierney and Jacinta Allan, many State MPs, as well as University Council members, senior University leaders, community representatives, staff and local school students.

Mr Brumby said he was honoured to become Chancellor  – the University equivalent of Board Chair in the private sector.

“La Trobe is Victoria’s third oldest University and has a long proud tradition of driving positive change – building human potential through education, forging new knowledge, fostering innovation  and building the economic and cultural strength of communities,” Mr Brumby said.

“Taking up this role is something of a home-coming. My first job in education was as a secondary teacher in the Bendigo suburb of Eaglehawk – where I saw first hand the benefits of education. Since then the transformative power of education to lift up individuals and create opportunities has been a constant thread through my political and professional life. I look forward to continuing that commitment at La Trobe. I will do whatever I can in my role to build the growth and success of La Trobe University for our students and the communities that we serve,” Mr Brumby said.

La Trobe Vice-Chancellor Professor John Dewar said he looked forward to working with Mr Brumby – who would bring a wealth of experience to the University.

“As Victorian Premier and Treasurer, John Brumby was a champion of investment in education, research, innovation, health and regional infrastructure. He brings to La Trobe a vast depth of experience, strong business acumen, an intimate understanding of decision and policy making processes, and a passion for excellence,” Professor Dewar said.

“On behalf of our students and staff, and the communities we serve – a very warm welcome to our new Chancellor John Brumby.”

Mr Brumby replaces Professor Richard Larkins AC who has been in the role since February 2017.

“I want to thank outgoing Chancellor Richard Larkins for his significant contribution to the University,” Professor Dewar said. “He’s made a real and lasting difference at this University, let alone the other insitutions where he has worked over his long and distinguished career.”

Since leaving Government eight years ago, Mr Brumby has taken on a range of roles in the business, not for profit and university sectors. He is chair of a number of business organisations including Citywide Solutions Pty Ltd, the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust, BioCurate, and the Motor Trades Association of Australia (MTAA) Superannuation Fund. He also teaches as an Enterprise Professor at the University of Melbourne.

In the not-for-profit sector Mr Brumby is Chair of the Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute and the Fred Hollows Foundation. He is also the National President of the Australia China Business Council.

Mr Brumby was awarded an Order of Australia in 2017 for distinguished service to the Parliament of Victoria, to economic management and medical biotechnology innovation, to improved rural and regional infrastructure, and to the community.

Media contact: Tim Mitchell – 0437 457 780 /