La Trobe Elite Athlete Program members make positive start to 2023

The first quarter of 2023 has proven to be a fruitful period in terms of student achievements for the La Trobe Elite Athlete Program (LEAP).

On the back of the LEAP program expanding with 28 new athletes in 2023 (up to a total of 109 athletes overall across 41 different sports), the opening three months of this season has also seen a range of notable success stories across the LEAP cohort both on the national and international stage.

The LEAP program is proudly supported by TechnologyOne, and helps to identify, promote and support the needs of elite athletes studying at university by providing them with assistance and support to successfully combine their academic and sporting pursuits . The value of combining sport and higher education is well recognised across the university and sporting sectors, which is why La Trobe is committed to helping elite athletes undertaking study with the University.

View the full list of LEAP athlete achievements in the first quarter of 2023 below:

Amy Lawton - Scored for Hockeyroos against USA and Sultana Bran Hockey One League 2022 Women’s Most Valuable Player.

Halle Mifsud - New Australian Senior & U23 Record, with a 111kg Clean & Jerk at 59kg body weight at the 2023 Queensland Junior & Under 23 Championship.

Caitlin Parker - Won a silver medal at the IBA Women's World Boxing Championships in India and won the 74th Strandja Boxing Tournament via unanimous decision in Bulgaria.

Lily Tomkinson - 1st in the Super Giant Slalom at Vail Resorts, Colorado.

Benjamin Cosgriff - Selected to represent Australia at the 2023 IWWF World Under 21 Waterski Championships in Mexico.

Georgie O'Callaghan - Selected to represent Australia at the U23 World Championships and World Cup for canoe slalom.

Parys Battistella & Zayn Gervalla - Selected to attend upcoming World Cheerleading Championships in the US - both been given EASF grants.

Katerina Paul - Began her run for Australia at the Ski Classics Pro Tour (across Europe) - received an EASF grant for it.

Kathryn Books - Won the gold for Javelin at the Victorian Track & Field Championships, automatically qualifying for Australian Track & Field Championships.

Tully Watt - Currently in Egypt for UIPM Pentathlon World Cup.

Amy Bachmann - With her horse Minge, won Small Tour Champion at the Victorian Youth Dressage Championships.

Skye Wallace - Gold medal for her age group at the Shimano Husky Triathlon Festival.

Will Sargent - Gold medal at the 2023 Hardy Cup - Sydney International Match Racing Regatta.

Ella Jackson - Just returned to Australia after competing at the La Diagonella in Switzerland.

Olivia Graham - Gold medal in the hammer throw at the 2023 Country Championships.

Rebecca Pizzey - Signed for WNBL club, UC Capitals, and won the club’s Defensive Player of the Year Award for the 2022/23 season.

For more information on the La Trobe Elite Athlete Program, visit the La Trobe Sport website.