2020 Furphy Literary Award short list announced

The Furphy Literary Award judging process is now complete for 2020, shortlist announced, and winners to be announced at upcoming awards ceremony 25 July.

After receiving more than 1,100 entries from across Australia, the Furphy Literary Award judging process is now complete for 2020. A short list has now been announced, with the winners to be announced at the upcoming awards ceremony on 25 July.

La Trobe University is a sponsor of the Furphy Literary Awards. Shepparton Head of Campus Elizabeth Capp serves on the Advisory Board, and La Trobe academics Professor Clare Wright and Dr Marg Hickey were members of this year’s judging panel. Additionally, a dedicated group of ‘long list’ readers who completed the first round reading of submissions included colleagues from La Trobe's Department of Creative Arts and English.

“These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate young regional authors, as well as authors from all across Australia, and the wonderful art of Australian storytelling,” said Elizabeth Capp.

The complete list of short and long listed entries is available online.

Furphy Literary Award director Sam Furphy said the calibre of entries was outstanding this year. “We are thrilled to receive such a strong numbers of entries from every state and territory of Australia and overseas. Congratulations to all the authors who put forward their work for critical review.”

To ensure the health and safety of guests and to adhere to government and health guidelines this year’s award ceremony will be held virtually and will be available to stream live on Saturday 25 July.

“Whilst we are disappointed not to be holding the event in person we are excited at the possibility of a wider audience than we might have expected. The quality of the works submitted is really encouraging and we look forward to celebrating on in July,” said Furphy Literary Award director and La Trobe Council member Adam Furphy.

The awards event will be available to stream from the Furphy Literary Awards website, and Facebook page as well as the Greater Shepparton City Council’s YouTube channel

The Furphy Literary Award is named in honour of Australian writer Joseph Furphy and celebrates Australian story telling. Joseph Furphy was the author of a number of works written under the pen name of Tom Collins – the most famous of which - Such is Life - was published in 1903.

Entrants for the open category must reside in Australia or be citizens of Australia. The Open category is for short stories of 5,000 words or less for which first prize is $15,000. The theme nominated for the award is “Australian Life”.  There are also three junior/Youth categories, which were open to young people from Shepparton and surrounding regions.