La Trobe sports stars crowned at 2019 Representative Sport Awards

The achievements of La Trobe University’s affiliated sports clubs and University Nationals representative teams were celebrated at the 2019 Representative Sport Awards last Wednesday night.

Over 100 people attended the awards ceremony hosted in the new La Trobe Sports Park Pavilion Function Centre, with seven awards presented on the night.

La Trobe University Soccer Club was presented with the keynote award for the evening, winning the Sports Club of the Year Award. Beating out a strong field of nominations, LTUSC was recognised for its unprecedented growth in player numbers across all grades and for revamping their football vision and social media programs to encourage inclusiveness for all levels of participant.

LTUSC also enjoyed success on an individual front as well, with club stalwart Steve Patrick awarded an Outstanding Service to Sport Award. Along with Patrick, Outstanding Service to Sport Awards were also bestowed upon Karin Griggs (Dive La Trobe), Adam Azzopardi (LTU Mountaineering Club), Lucy Laussen (LTU Rowing Club) and Tom Henskens (LTU Tennis Club) in recognition of their extensive contribution to sport at La Trobe University.

The achievements of Team La Trobe’s 2019 University Nationals Division 1 and 2 campaigns on the Gold Coast were also acknowledged on the evening. Hannah Grady (Mixed Netball) and Joey Katebian (Men’s Soccer) were crowned the Team La Trobe Players of the Year for their outstanding individual performances in their respective sports.

On the back of a silver medal placing in Division 1 and a wonderful display of camaraderie and sportsmanship throughout the week, the Team of the Year Award was presented to the Men’s Basketball team. Team Managers of the Year Awards were given to Abraham Albert Bonela (Men’s Badminton) and Natasha Symonds (Women’s Australian Rules Football), while Jayke Lloyd-Roeby (Men’s Tennis) claimed the Spirit of La Trobe Award.

Rounding out the award winners was the presentation of the Underdog of the Year Award, which was taken out by the immensely popular Men’s Fencing team.

Head to the La Trobe Sport Facebook page to view a gallery of images from the 2019 Representative Sport Awards.

Image Above: Joey Katebian (Men’s Soccer) is presented with the Team La Trobe Male Player of the Year Award by Team La Trobe Men’s Soccer coach, Ivan Jurinovic.

Find an expert

Search our experts database.