2023 Key Dates

Here are some key dates to mark in your calendar for 2023.

While we hope we don’t need to change anything this year – fingers crossed! – do keep an eye on the academic calendar as the year progresses. We will email you at your student email address if there are any important changes.

Semester 1

  • New students – Orientation starts on Monday 20 February and ends on Friday 24 February. Make sure you use the Orientation Planner to see what’s on during Orientation
  • Semester 1 begins Monday 27 February and ends on Friday 26 May
  • Census date is Friday 31 March
  • Study vacation (SWOTVAC) runs from Monday 29 May – Thursday 1 June
  • The exam/assessment period is from Friday 2 June – Friday 17 June

Semester 2

  • Orientation starts on Monday 24 July and ends on Friday 28 July
  • Semester 2 begins Monday 31 July and ends on Friday 27 October
  • Census date is Thursday 31 August
  • Study vacation (SWOTVAC) runs from Monday 30 October – Thursday 2 November
  • The exam/assessment period is from Friday 3 November – Saturday 18 November

University closed dates

  • Australia Day – Thursday 26 January
  • Easter – Friday 7 April – Tuesday 11 April
  • ANZAC Day – Tuesday 25 April
  • King’s Birthday – Monday 12 June
  • University shut down – Monday 25 December – Tuesday 2 January 2024

Please note that the University is open on Melbourne Cup Day (Tuesday 7 November).

Full academic calendar

If you’re curious about Semester, Term, Winter dates, head over to the full academic calendar to see more details.