Government invests in La Trobe

La Trobe University Vice-Chancellor Professor John Dewar

“La Trobe University has received a strong endorsement from Federal Government this week with significant funding valued at over $33 million for several key initiatives that will be of lasting benefit to our students, our research and to communities across Australia.

The funding recognises La Trobe’s exceptional strengths in high quality regional and rural education, as well as our pioneering research and innovation capabilities and industry collaborations in agricultural sciences.”

Initiatives announced this week include:

  • 94 Destination Australia scholarships valued at over $1.5 million to attract and support international and domestic students to study at La Trobe’s regional campuses in Bendigo, Shepparton, Albury-Wodonga and Mildura. This was the highest number of Destination Australia scholarships awarded to a single university, with 67 destined for our Bendigo campus – the largest amount awarded to any campus nationally.
  • We welcomed Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack to Shepparton. The Government has committed $5 million towards extending our campus there – another acknowledgment of the pivotal role La Trobe plays in regional education and the local economy.
  • Minister for Agriculture Senator Bridget McKenzie and Member for Nicholls Damian Drum announced $2.5 million of funding this week for the La Trobe-led National Landcare Program, Smart Farming Partnerships initiative, calling it a “cutting edge” approach to putting value on farms’ natural assets and sustainable practices.
  • Education Minister Dan Tehan launched the La Trobe-led, $24 million Australian Research Council Industry Transformation Research Hub for Medicinal Agriculture. The ARC MedAg Hub will bring together La Trobe’s leading agri-medicine researchers with industry partners to drive innovation, new product development and employment in Australia’s fast-growing medicinal agriculture sector.

At the launch of the La Trobe-led Australian Research Council Industry Transformation Research Hub for Medicinal Agriculture. From left: Professor John Dewar (Vice-Chancellor, La Trobe University) with Education Minister Dan Tehan and Professor Tony Bacic (Director ARC MedAg Hub).