Jordie French

It’s good to see you guys have come here for a bit of an insight into the university experience, I hope I can help you out!

My name’s Jordie and I’m about to start studying my fourth and final year of POE, or in official uni talk, a Bachelor of Physical and Outdoor Education at La Trobe’s Bendigo campus.

I’ll tell you heaps about my course throughout the year, simply because I love it and pretty much won’t shut up about it, but first - a bit more about me.

I’m 22 and grew up in the north-west of Tassy.

Anyone who has been there will know how awesome some of the natural environment is in Tassy, (if not the weather), so I grew up doing a fair bit of bushwalking, surfing, kayaking and other bits and pieces.

Other than outdoor stuff I’m into playing guitar and I also kill a lot of time just hanging out with the boys I live with.

Last year I started some bar work at a pub in Bendigo which is really handy for a bit of pocket money, plus I love the work. I spend most of my free time in Bendigo off road tripping to the beach with a bunch of lads.

I had never thought of studying interstate and actually had no idea what I wanted to do until after year 12.

I got some advice from my old outdoor ed teacher and decided to apply for a Bachelor of Arts in Outdoor Education Recreation course in Bendigo and it ended up paying off in a big way.

Feel free to track some of my year through these blogs, and I seriously hope you get something out of watching them!

The outdoor adventurer

My travels on placement

Uni break getaway!

The world as an apple!

Placement - QLD Style

The ultimate study break/study snack

Done and Dusted

Over and Out