Olivia Collicoat

Nicknames: Colli – there was another Olivia in my basketball squad. Livs or Livers – a coach gave this to me during water ski training.

Place of birth: Maryborough, Victoria.

Please list your sporting career highlights:

  • Water skiing at the Moomba Masters held in Melbourne
  • Representing Australia at the Australia vs New Zealand Challenge
  • Placing at the Australian Nationals.

At what age did you start seriously training and competing in your sport(s)?

11 years old.

What (and/or who) got you started in the sport?

My parents always skied socially and got us kids to go to a water ski school to just improve our technique. From this the coach at the ski school got us into tournament skiing.

Are other family members involved in sport?

My two siblings both ski competitively and my parents still ski socially. My parents are also involved in judging at tournaments and also involved in committees.

Who has been the biggest influence in your sporting career?

I have had a few people influence my skiing. An Australian International skier named Ryan Green has had a big influence over my skiing. He has coached me in previous years and represented Australia for many years.

Ryan has a great attitude: both on and off the water and always strives to do his best and prepares in any way possible. I try and to show a similar level of sportsmanship, as I believe he is a great role model and I should also try to act similar for junior athletes coming through who look up to me.

Who has been the biggest influence in your academic life?

Mum and dad have always encouraged us to be the best we can be and want us to lead the best life we can to support ourselves and our future.

Do you support any other sport and/or teams?

I also play Netball in the Bendigo Football Netball League for Strathfieldsaye. I am a member of the A Reserve Team and also have my B badge in umpiring.

How do you relax? Do you have other life interests outside of your sport?

I like to watch TV series movies or read books and magazines to relax. Sport takes up a lot of time in my week so I also use this to help relieve any stress.

What is one thing that might surprise readers to learn about you?

I am 5ft tall but will surprise anyone who watches me. I don't let my height disadvantage me and try my hardest to get around it and find things where my height is of an advantage.

What is your favourite food?  Movie? Music/performer?

My favourite food is fruit, chocolate and Cobbs popcorn – Slightly sweet, slightly salted

My favourite movie is Finding Nemo

I don't really have any favourite music –  it depends on my mood and what I am doing.

What was the best advice you were ever given?

Never give up on your dreams. If you want something, work hard to get it.

Do you have a saying or motto that you live your life by?

All you have to do is believe and have a little faith.