Amanda Paulin

Amanda Paulin elite athletePlace of birth: East Melbourne

Please list your sporting career highlights:

Finishing 4th at the 2012 Australian Olympic Trails in Melbourne and running a 1500m PB at the Briggs Track Classic in Hobart in 2012.

At what age did you start seriously training and competing in your sport(s)?

About the age of 9

What (and/or who) got you started in the sport?

I grew up around athletes. My dad was a runner and so were most of our family friends. From a young age I was attending athletics meets at Olympic Park, or the Stawell Gift, and at other places around Victoria - I basically never considered a lifestyle that didn't involve athletics.

My parents didn't let me start Little Athletics until I reached the under 9 age group, but as soon as I did, I was off to the track to register.

Are other family members involved in sport?

My sisters are also involved in track & field.

Who has been the biggest influence in your sporting career?

My mum has been my biggest supporter throughout my sporting career. She is the one who drove me to and from training nearly every day throughout secondary school and she always supported the idea that if I can dream it, I can achieve it

Who has been the biggest influence in your academic life?

There were certain teachers at my secondary school (Carey Baptist Grammar) that went above and beyond their duties as educators and made the entire schooling process an enjoyable learning curve.

They were great role models in showing me how to incorporate a work/sport balance into life and the importance of making choices about a career path that really interests you. They also showed me the satisfaction you can gain from helping others to achieve their goals.

Do you support any other sport and/or teams?

I follow the AFL, in particular the Sydney Swans.    

How do you relax? Do you have other life interests outside of your sport?

I watch movies and dvds and read books and magazines.

What is your favourite food?  Movie? Music/performer?

Chocolate is my favourite food.