Opening date

Closing date



Who is it for?

1st year undergraduates, Australian Citizen

Where is it available?


How is it paid?

One off payment


This award was established as a trust fund by the late Mr Walter Schnock to honour the memory of Ms Gwen Saunders. Ms Saunders trained as a podiatrist and was involved as a member of the National Society of Chiropodists, which was to become the Australian Podiatry Association (Vic). She then served 20 years on the Council of that organisation. Her area of interest and expertise was in the field of education. She was also appointed to the Academic Committee of the Lincoln Institute of Health Sciences to promote the inclusion of the podiatry course as part of their academic syllabus. It was ultimately adopted as the prototype for the degree that now exists at La Trobe University. For more than thirty years Ms Saunders was in charge of the Diebetic Foot Clinic at St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne and later was in private practice.

Are you eligible to apply?

To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, applicants must:

  • Be a first year Bachelor of Podiatry (Honours) student.

Recipients of the scholarship shall be selected by the University based on their:

  • submission of the application form and supporting documentation.
Preference will be given to a student from a rural area within Australia and who may have experienced financial hardship.

Academic merit is not a criterion for the award.

The value of the award is $600 and will be paid into your bank account at the end of the selection process. This bursary does not specify how the money is to be used therefore it is at the discretion of the student.

How to apply

To apply for this bursary, please complete the application form and return to Mr Nikolaos Nikolopoulos (email address listed on application form) by 30 May 2021.

Who to contact for further information

Scholarships Office,