The Future of the Australian University

Hear Professor John Dewar, Vice-Chancellor of La Trobe University and Chair of the Federal Ministerial Universities' Legislation & Financing Working Group, on the prospects for the University in Australia.

The Future of the Australian University


Professor John Dewar is the Vice-Chancellor and President of La Trobe University, a position he has held since January 2012. He is currently Chair of the IRU Group of Universities, Chair of the Victorian Vice-Chancellors' Committee, a member of the AHEIA Executive Committee and a Director of Education  Australia Pty Ltd. Professor Dewar has also held senior leadership positions at Griffith University and the University of Melbourne.


Adrienne E Clarke AC is Chancellor of La Trobe University, former Chair of the CSIRO and a Fellow of both the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. She has written four major scientific books dealing with chemistry, cell biology and genetics,  and has served on the Prime Minister's Science and Engineering Council.


Robert Manne is Emeritus Professor, a Vice-Chancellor's Fellow and Convenor of the Ideas and Society Program at La Trobe University. A leading public intellectual and commentator, he is the author/editor of over 20 books including Left, Right, Left: Political Essays 1977 - 2005; Making Trouble: Essays  against the New Australian Complacency and three Quarterly Essays, most recently Bad News.