Clare Wright wins prized Alice Award

The Society of Women Writers have awarded historian and author Clare Wright the biennial Alice Literary Award for ‘distinguished and long-term contribution to literature by an Australian woman.'

Associate Professor Clare Wright, whose books include The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka and Beyond the Ladies Lounge was presented with the award at an event in Launceston.

The winner of the Alice Literary Award is selected from a shortlist of finalists from each state, who are judged on how much their work has inspired women’s literature.

Previous winners of the coveted award include Kate Grenville, Elizabeth Jolley, Eleanor Dark, Brenda Niall, Mary Durack and Mem Fox.

Clare Wright said the Award was a huge honour.

'It is a huge thrill for my name to be included in the list of past winners; authors of extraordinary calibre and grace, dedication and resolve, intelligence and imagination. Many of these women are personal heroes of mine.'

Clare Wright's book, 'The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka, was the winner of the 2014 Stella Prize and Nib Waverly Award for Literature and has been shortlisted for prizes including the Prime Minister's Literary awards. A Young Adult version of the book, 'We Are the Rebels,' is shortlisted for the Children's Book Council Awards.

The first branch of of the Society of Women Writers was established in NSW in the 1920s.

Media; Catherine Garrett 9479 6565