Indigenous community celebrates awards

La Trobe University's Albury-Wodonga Campus has hosted yet another sell-out Naidoc Awards night.

Hosted by the University's Indigenous Education Unit, the awards recognised the significant achievements and contributions of the region's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander population.

This year's theme for NAIDOC week was 'We all Stand on Sacred Ground: Learn, Respect and Celebrate'.

La Trobe would like to congratulate the award winners, who were as follows:

*                        Uncle Arthur Melrose Memorial Encouragement Award: Ebony Morgan

*                        Elder of the Year: Aunty Nancy Rooke

*                        Youth of the Year: Lillian Arnold-Rendell

*                        Community Person of the Year: Darrin Wighton

*                        Scholar of the Year: Aunty Judith Cue-Ahmat

*                        Artist of the Year: Benjamin Davidson

*                        Sportsperson of the Year: Gabrielle Biedenweg-Webster

*                        Volunteer of the Year: Alicia Wheatley

*                        Appreciation Award: Renee Silver

Winner of last year's Youth of the Year, Ms Tahlia Biggs, was MC on the night, alongside Mr Brendan Kennedy.

Dr Guinever Threlkeld, Head of Campus at La Trobe University Albury-Wodonga, said the NAIDOC awards night celebration was a relaxed, social function celebrating some wonderful people.

'At La Trobe, we really value community and to be able to formally recognise some of Albury-Wodonga's most inspirational Indigenous community members during NAIDOC week is an honour,' Dr Threlkeld said.

'The awards night is always a success and it makes sense to continue working with our Indigenous leaders to honour those people who are making a difference in the community.'

Dr Pettina Love, Indigenous Student Services Officer at La Trobe University, said every year Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities throughout Australia spent months planning NAIDOC celebrations and the University was proud to play a part.

'This is a really exciting event for La Trobe University and it is enthusiastically supported by the local community,' Dr Love said.

'We are really proud of the achievements of our community members and the awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate them.'

The awards night was held at The Cube in Hovell St Wodonga on Saturday 11 July 2015.

Media enquiries:

Leah Humphrys, 03 9479 5353

Find an expert

Search our experts database.