Distinguished alumni awarded

La Trobe has honoured six eminent alumni with the 2015 La Trobe University Distinguished Alumni Award in recognition of their significant accomplishments in their personal or professional life, and for service to their community, state or nation.

The winners include the founder of Australia's first Islamic Museum, a highly decorated nurse, humanitarian aid worker and a man who last year helped deliver 14 million meals to Australians in need.

Chancellor of La Trobe University, Professor Adrienne E Clarke AC, said the Distinguished Alumni Award provided the opportunity to recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements and contributions of La Trobe's most distinguished alumni.

The awards ceremony is now in its 48th year and only 61 people have received this prestigious award in that time.

 "The La Trobe Alumni Award is one of the highest honours bestowed by the University," Professor Clarke said. 

"La Trobe is a university renowned for its excellence in education and research, its social responsibility and its diversity.

"This year's group of award recipients reflect this diversity, covering a wide range of areas including law, social entrepreneurship, health and community sport, medical services, cross-cultural relations and nursing."

Professor Clarke said La Trobe was proud to have provided each award recipient with a foundation for their success.

2015 award recipients:

Young Achiever Award

Catherine Eglezos is the 2015 La Trobe University Young Achiever Award recipient. A young law professional, Catherine is a member of the Disputes group at Herbert Smith Freehills, is a volunteer solicitor with Inner Melbourne Community Legal and is involved in the Public Interest Advocacy Centre's International Crimes Evidence Project. She is Co-Chair and an Executive Committee member of the International Law Section of the Law Institute of Victoria.

Distinguished Alumni Award

Ian Carson is Co-Founder and Chairman of SecondBite, an organisation that provides access to fresh, nutritious food for people in need across Australia and in 2014, SecondBite sourced and redistributed enough high-quality surplus food for more than 14 million meals, supporting people who are homeless, women and families in crisis, youth at risk, Indigenous communities, asylum seekers and new arrivals.

Catherine Arlove is currently the Director of Sub Acute services in the third largest private hospital health group in Australia, Healthcare. While building her career and completing her education, Catherine represented Australia in Judo at three Olympic Games, three world championships and a Commonwealth Games.

Moustafa Fahour OAM is the Founder & Director of Australia's first Islamic Museum, the Islamic Museum of Australia, which officially opened on 28 February 2014. Moustafa is the author of Boundless Plains: The Australian Muslim Connection and The Journey: Establishing Australia's First Islamic Museum and is the Executive Producer of the Boundless Plains: The Australian Muslim Connection documentary. In January 2015, Moustafa received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to the visual arts and cross-cultural relations.

Jennifer Williams has made a sustained and significant contribution to the delivery of medical services for the State of Victoria. Her achievements include the transformation of Austin Health and then Alfred Health as Chief Executive from 1997 to 2009, and as Chief Executive of the Australian Red Cross Blood Service since 2009. Recently, Jennifer was appointed by the Victorian Minister for Health Service to the position of Chair of Northern Health for a three year term.

Andrew Cameron OAM is a highly decorated nurse and humanitarian aid worker. Over nine years, Andrew volunteered in Afghanistan, Iraq, Kenya, Sudan, Yemen, Ossetia and Sierra Leone. During two years in Afghanistan, his leadership led to the polio vaccination of many thousands of at-risk children and young adults. In 2011, Andrew received the highest international distinction in nursing- the rarely awarded Florence Nightingale Medal "for exceptional courage and devotion to victims of armed conflict."

Young Achiever Award – course information: 

Catherine Eglezos Bachelor of Laws (Hons) / Bachelor of Arts (2012)

Distinguished Alumni – course information:

Ian Carson, Post Graduate Diploma of Accounting (1984)

Catherine Arlove, Bachelor of Physiotherapy (1993), Bachelor of Laws (current)

Moustafa Fahour OAM, Bachelor of Business (2001)

Jennifer Williams, Bachelor of Economics (1970)

Andrew Cameron OAM, Bachelor of Nursing (1991)

Image:Distinguished Alumni 2015 Ian Carson, Catherine Eglezos, Catherine Arlove and Andrew Cameron OAM. Moustafa Fahour OAM and Jennifer Williams could not be present for the event.

Media contact

Leah Humphrys

Media and Communications Officer

T   + 61 3 9479 5353

E   l.humphrys@latrobe.edu.au