La Trobe students winging to Asia

Two La Trobe University students have been awarded scholarships under the Federal Government's New Colombo Plan, which aims to increase academic relationships between Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

Students Kara Menzies, from Romsey, and Richard Garrett, of Ferntree Gully, will travel to Indonesia and Japan respectively to further their studies. They aim to study overseas for at least six months.

The scholarship provides up to $67,000 in support for recipients.

Miss Menzies is in her third year of a Bachelor of Education at La Trobe's Bendigo campus and has studied Indonesian for the last 14 years.

Mr Garrett is in his fourth year of study majoring in bio-chemistry and physics, which he is studying alongside an Advanced Diploma in Japanese.

Kara Menzies will teach in Indonesia

Kara Menzies

Miss Menzies said she believed her experience in Indonesia at the Sanata Dharma University would enhance her career aspirations of being an Indonesian teacher.

'It's going to help me become a better educator in Australia because I am going to have authentic materials and resources that I can teach with and that will set my classroom apart from others,' Miss Menzies said.

Richard Garrett will undertake research in Japan

Richard Garrett

Mr Garrett said he would use the time in Japan to hone his language skills while undertaking a complex project at the National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS).

'I will be undertaking a project in the field of drug delivery research, which will involve the electro spinning of a nano fibre mesh which can be stitched into the body for cancer treatment using the mesh as a method of drug delivery,' Mr Garrett said.

The La Trobe students are two of just 41 Australians awarded scholarships last night in Canberra.

La Trobe University Vice Chancellor, Professor John Dewar welcomed the announcement.

'We are honoured and delighted that two of our students have been selected as part of this prestigious scholarship program.'

Students from only 18 universities in Australia received scholarships.


Media enquiries: Catherine Garrett (03) 9479 6565 / 0418 964 325