Achievements to be celebrated

Almost 980 La Trobe University Bendigo campus students from regional Victoria and beyond will graduate on Thursday 2 and Friday 3 May 2013.

Almost 980 students are about to graduate from La Trobe University BendigoGraduations ceremonies will take place at the Bendigo Stadium, where just under 750 students and their families will be present to celebrate their achievements. (Other degrees will be presented in absentia).

Presentations for the Faculty of Education will commence at 10.30am on the morning of Thursday 2 May and graduates will be presented by Professor Lorraine Ling, Executive Dean, Faculty of Education. The Occasional Address will be delivered by Philomena Billington, Director of Catholic Education, Sandhurst Diocese.

At 2.30 pm on Thursday afternoon, La Trobe University Chancellor Professor Adrienne E Clarke, AC, will confer the degree Doctor of the University (honoris causa) upon Professor Frank Milne, Bank of Montreal, Professor of Economics and Finance, Queen’s University. The Occasional Address will be delivered by Professor Milne before Faculty of Business, Economics and Law graduates are presented  by Professor Richard Speed, Executive Deputy Dean.  Dr Tony Jarvis, Associate Dean (International), Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences will present graduates from his Faculty and Dr Katherine Legge, Associate Dean (Regional) will present Faculty of Science, Technology and Engineering graduates.

The Faculty of Health Sciences ceremony will commence at 10.30 am on Friday 3 May and graduates will be presented by Professor Jane Farmer, Head of La Trobe Rural Health School and Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Health Sciences; and Professor Peter Wilson, Professor of Dentistry, Faculty of Health Sciences.

The Occasional Address will be delivered by Linda Beilharz OAM, Executive Officer, Women’s Health Loddon Mallee.


Media enquiries

Zerin Knight, Regional Media and Communications Manager (Acting) T + 61 3 5444 7375, M + 61 4 2846 3161