FLM academics receive ALTC citations

Four nominees from La Trobe University’s Faculty of Law and Management have been selected to receive 2011 Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning, an outcome that underscores  the high caliber of staff working within the Faculty.

ALTC LogoALTC Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning recognise and reward the diverse contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning. Citations are awarded to those who have made a significant contribution to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period, whether they are academic staff, general staff, sessional staff or institutional associates. La Trobe University received a total of five nominations this year including those for staff at the Faculty of Law and Management.

The successful nominees from the Faculty are:

Paul EmeryMr Paul Emery, School of Management

For the development of innovative and engaging student-centered teaching through enthusiastic delivery, support and the use of authentic problem-based activities in sport management.




Wayne GeerlingDr Wayne Geerling, School of Economics and Finance

For inspiring undergraduate and postgraduate students to engage with self and peer learning, and real world experiences using active learning techniques in Economics.





Greg JamiesonMr Greg Jamieson, School of Economics and Finance
For developing professionally accredited programs, work-integrated-learning and graduate attributes which enhance student learning and better prepare graduates for employment in the finance industry.



Lynne LevesonDr Lynne Leveson, School of Management

For sustained contribution to scholarly activities that have influenced and enhanced learning and teaching in undergraduate and postgraduate Business education.





Chief Executive of the ALTC, Dr Carol Nicoll, stressed the importance of recognising the accomplishments of these recipients.

‘The ALTC commends the efforts of these staff who have made a significant contribution to the student experience so early in their careers,’ she said.

‘This formal recognition by peers and the sector is important for encouraging their continued high level of engagement with their students into the future.

Executive Dean of the Faculty of Law and Management, Professor Leigh Drake added his excitement at the announcement.

‘Given that there were only 5 nominations in total from La Trobe, this is a really excellent outcome,’ he said.

‘I am sure that you will all join me in congratulating Paul, Wayne, Greg and Lynne on their outstanding achievements.’

The awards will be presented at the National Citations and Awards Ceremony on 16 August at the Sydney Opera House.

More information can be found on the ALTC website http://www.altc.edu.au/June2011-citations

Stephen Scoglio
Web and Communications Officer 
T +61 (03) 9479 1604 M +61 421 347 816 E S.Scoglio@latrobe.edu.au