Distinguished Bendigonians recognised

Distinguished Bendigonians recognised

28 May 2010

Two Bendigo people have been honoured by La Trobe University with the presentation of the inaugural Young Distinguished Alumni Award and the inaugural Distinguished Alumni Fellow Award.

Alumni Awards Young Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, Dr Rebecca Kippen, has achieved great success since graduating in 1997 with a Bachelor of Business from La Trobe University’s Bendigo campus. At the age of 37, Dr Kippen is one of Australia’s leaders in the field of demography.

Following graduation Dr Kippen took the advice of Professor Terry Mills (who was then head of the Mathematics Department) and embarked on a summer scholarship in demography at the Australian National University. This led to postgraduate studies and a subsequent research fellowship in demography at ANU.

Since the late 1990s, Dr Kippen’s work with Peter McDonald on population futures has been extremely influential in the population debate in Australia and internationally. Their research has investigated the possible range of future population levels, labour force supply, housing demand, and population ageing, and has been used by state and federal governments, and non-government organisations.

Dr Kippen has developed methods of data analysis that have been adopted by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. In 2009 Dr Kippen presented the annual G.S. Watson Lecture at La Trobe University.  Dr Kippen now works as a Fellow in the ANU’s Australian Demographic and Social Research Institute and holds an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship in the School of Population Health at the University of Melbourne.

Distinguished Alumni Fellow Award recipient, Ms Joan O'Shea (nee Stott) has been acknowledged for over 60 years of contribution to the nursing community in Bendigo.

Mrs O’Shea was a member of the first intake of nurses at the Northern District School of Nursing (Lister House), one of La Trobe’s antecedent institutions, which was the first independent regional school of nursing in the Southern hemisphere.

Mrs O’Shea was a member of the first Staff Nurses course at the Northern District School of Nursing and worked as a lecturer there from 1955 – 1959.  She was a member of the Board of Management of the Bendigo Hospital from 1983 until 1991, having roles as Chairperson of the Sexual Assault Unit, Chairperson of the Combined Hospital Auxiliaries and Vice President of Board.

Mrs O’Shea has also been a member of the Northern District School of Nursing Graduates Association since its establishment, including being the Foundation Secretary and later President of the Association.

The awards were presented on Wednesday 26 May at the NGV restaurant in Melbourne.

Media enquiries:
Zerin Knight, Ph (03) 5444 7375 F +613 5444 7526 M 0428 463 161 E z.knight@latrobe.edu.au




La Trobe Media Release RSS