La Trobe Distinguished Alumni

La Trobe Distinguished Alumni

30 Apr 2009

Seven alumni of La Trobe University have been formally recognised for distinguished services to their community and nation.

graduation The awardees have been chosen from outstanding La Trobe graduates who have made significant contributions in a broad range of areas; social work, economic research, education, information technology, biochemistry, research and enterprise.

 Vice Chancellor Paul Johnson spoke of the University’s pride at sending out graduates who turn their talents to the advancement of society through research, business, social work and other forms of contribution.  130, 000 students have graduated from La Trobe since the University’s opening in 1967, with seven such graduates receiving the Distinguished Alumni Award in 2009 to make the total 26 since 1998.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards, Professor Johnson reiterated, remain an important aspect of Alumni relations as it facilitates a connection between past and present students through a mentoring program and La Trobe Alumni work also help current students achieve their best transition from study to the workplace.

This year also saw Khodadad Rezaee, the inaugural Albury-Wodonga student graduate Valedictorian, speak at the awards.  Known by his Australian name Jason, Khodadad arrived in Australia eight years ago as a refugee from Afghanistan, completing his undergraduate Bachelor of Business at the Albury-Wodonga campus last year.  He has since begun work for a local accountancy firm.

Khodadad spoke of his excitement of speaking in front of such distinguished guests, thanking the opportunities La Trobe has given him and his fellow graduates, and felt strongly that ‘the communities that we now work and live in will undoubtedly be stronger as a result.  

La Trobe University 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients

Bachelor of Social Work 1986
Awarded The United Nations World Habitat Award; Mr Lipman, the founder of Wintringham, a not for profit welfare company, has also received The Order of Australia (AM) 1999 for his work with the elderly homeless.

Bachelor of Economics 1982, Bachelor of Arts (Hons), PhD Business 1989
Professor McGillivray is the Chief Economist of the Australian Agency for International Development after being awarded Harvard University’s Inaugural Fellowship by the Human Development and Capability Association (HDCA).

Bachelor of Biological Science 1970
Dr McBean received the first PhD given by La Trobe; he has since been awarded an Order of Australia Medal in 1993 for his contribution to the region of north-central Victoria. His involvement in economic development, education and natural resource management connected the University to its region.

Bachelor of Business 1994
Born in Somalia, Jamila completed her degree and has worked overseas for companies such as Deloitte and IBM, she has since returned home to become Qantas Group Chief Information officer in 2007.

Bachelor of Economics (Hons) 1969
David Morgan is the author of Over-Taxation by Inflation.  Dr Morgan is married to former Federal Minister, The Hon. Ros Kelly AO with whom he has established a family charitable foundation and has two children.

Master of Economics 1979 PhD Business 1987
Dr Watt was the Minister (Economic) at the Embassy of Australia in Washington for two-and-a-half years and is the is the current chair of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD’s) Working Party of Senior Budget Officials.

Bachelor of Agricultural Science 1979, PhD in Agricultural Economics 1985
The Federal Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI), Malaysia since March 2008 and has been part of the Malaysian Parliament since 1995.




La Trobe Media Release RSS