Bendigo Pioneers Bursary winners awarded

Two talented young footballers and a Physiotherapy student involved with Bendigo Pioneers Football Club have received a special bursary to assist them with their academic studies at La Trobe University.

Drew Ryan, Jed Brereton and Lucy Membrey have all been awarded the Bendigo Pioneers Bursary for 2022. The Bendigo Pioneers Bursary is funded by the Bendigo Campus and recognises La Trobe students involved or associated with the Bendigo Pioneers exhibiting academic merit and who are.

The Bendigo Pioneers women’s and men’s teams compete in the top tier Under 18 Australian Rules Football competition, the NAB League. As part of a formal partnership between the two parties, La Trobe University is the official naming rights partner of the Pioneers, whose teams are based on the Bendigo campus.

Bendigo Pioneers players are supported with leading research into player development and one-to-one support by La Trobe Exercise Science and Physiotherapy students. The Pioneers also benefit from the expertise provided by La Trobe industry PhD candidate, Jake Jennings, who as the club’s Performance Manager is instrumental in preparing the Pioneers’ teams for elite competition.

Three $1000 one-off bursaries are awarded each year.

Visit the La Trobe website to find out more.