Previous Events

The Department presents a series of regular colloquiums and seminars, engaging with universities and industry bodies around the world.

Thursday 04 April 2019

In this colloquium, Dr Pavel Krupskiy from the University of Melbourne discusses proxy variables to common factors and parameter estimation in factor copula models.

Friday 22 February 2019

Dr Tanja Schindler discusses 'trimming', i.e. removing the large entries of a sum of random variables. Trimming has a long tradition to prove limit theorems which are not valid if one considers the untrimmed sum – for example a strong law of large numbers for random variables with an infinite mean.

Friday 15 February 2019

Associate Professor Paul Kabaila discusses the ‘tail method’ for constructing frequentist confidence intervals that utilize uncertain prior information.

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Join us for a webinar sharing insights about our disability courses.

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Get an Insight into the future at the annual Engineering, Information Technology and Mathematics Showcase. See highlights of the very best student projects from a variety of Engineering, IT and Mathematic disciplines.

Friday 23 November 2018

You are welcome to attend Honours and Masters theses presentations.

Friday 02 November 2018

As part of his Mahler lecture tour in Australia, Professor Corwin from Columbia University, USA will be visiting La Trobe mathematics and statistics department and giving a Mahler Lecture, see information below. We invite you to attend this special event.

Friday 19 October 2018

You are welcome to attend the following Statistics and Stochastic colloquium (part of the Colloquium Series of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics) at La Trobe University.

Friday 05 October 2018

Join us to explore issues and techniques used the various omics fields (transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, metagenomics). These new fields can offer insights into the complex molecular interactions of biological systems, but analysis has some technical challenges.

Friday 14 September 2018

Join us as we host this statistics colloquium with Associate Professor Kok-Leong Ong from the La Trobe Business School.

Friday 17 August 2018

Join us as we host this statistics colloquium with Associate Professor Paul Kabaila from La Trobe University.

Tuesday 14 August 2018

Join Professor Susan Murphy (Harvard University) as she discusses how data collected through mobile apps can transform the way that we tailor and deliver healthcare treatments.

Friday 03 August 2018

Join us as we host a statistics colloquium presented by Dr Heejung Shim, University of Melbourne

Friday 20 July 2018

Join us as we host a statistics colloquium presented by Professor R. J. Williams (University of California, San Diego).

Friday 13 July 2018

Join us for this seminar as we discuss the maximum likelihood estimator.

Tuesday 29 May 2018

Join us for this seminar as we discuss seasonal long-memory processes with Gegenbauer-type spectral densities.

Friday 11 May 2018

Join us for a statistics colloquium about how the score test can be consistent.