ILAS summer and winter intensive subjects 2018-2019

The Institute of Latin American Studies (ILAS) offers summer and winter intensive subjects.

The subjects are:

  • worth 15 credit points (full semester credit) at second or third year
  • all on HECS (CSP)
  • electives to fast-track your degree (Colleges of ASSC and SHE)
  • open to the general public and students from other universities.

Subject information

The subjects are delivered over 5 x 6 hours sessions held on Saturdays.
Times: 10am-1pm, Lunch 1pm-2pm, 2pm-5pm
Place: Bundoora Campus - Room TBA

Subjects
SemesterTopic Class Dates
Summer Subject 2018: January/February
LAS2BRZ: BRAZIL-History, Development, Culture and the Amazon.
Australia's only Brazilian history subject
  • Saturday 20 January 2018
  • Saturday 27 January 2018
  • Saturday 3 February 2018
  • Saturday 10 February 2018
  • Saturday 17 February 2018
Winter Subject 2018: June/July
LAS3CAM: Conquest of the Americas-Aztecs, Maya and Incas
Australia's only history subject covering the Aztecs & Maya of Mexico and the Incas of Peru
  • Saturday 16 June 2018
  • Saturday 23 June 2018
  • Saturday 30 June 2018
  • Saturday 7 July 2018
  • Saturday 14 July 2018
Summer Subject 2019: January/February
LAS3TSS: Tango, Samba, Salsa & Society: The History of Latin America through Music, Food & Drugs
Australia's only subject on the political, economic, and social histories of Latin America using music.
  • Saturday 19 January 2019
  • Saturday 2 February 2019
  • Saturday 9 February 2019
  • Saturday 16 February 2019
  • Saturday 23 February 2019
Winter Subject 2019: June/July
LAS2JAC: From Pirates to Reggae - The History of Jamaica and the Caribbean
Australia's only Caribbean history subject
  • Saturday 15 June 2019
  • Saturday 22 June 2019
  • Saturday 29 June 2019
  • Saturday 6 July 2019
  • Saturday 13 July 2019

Contact

Dr Ralph Newmark
Director, Institute of Latin American Studies at La Trobe University, (ILAS)
Phone: 03 9479 1142
Email: R.Newmark@latrobe.edu.au