Click Chemistry Symposium

Event status:

To celebrate the launch of the Click Chemistry Laboratory, headed by Professor John E. Moses at La Trobe University’s Institute for Molecular Sciences, we are honoured to welcome two of the world’s most distinguished scientists to La Trobe for the inaugural Click Chemistry Symposium.

Book now

Monday 12 February 2018 04:00 pm until Monday 12 February 2018 07:00 pm (Add to calendar)
Institute for Molecular Sciences
Presented by:
Institute for Molecular Sciences
Type of Event:
Forum/symposium; Public Lecture


Professor K. Barry Sharpless

Professor Sharpless received his B.A. from Dartmouth College in 1963 and his Ph.D. in Chemistryfrom Stanford University in 1968. Before joining The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) in 1990 as a W.M. Keck Professor of Chemistry, he was on the chemistry faculty at MIT and Stanford.

Professor Sharpless received a Nobel Prize in 2001 for the first general methods for asymmetric oxidation - the Sharpless reactions for asymmetric epoxidation, dihydroxylation, and aminohydroxylation. He is known for click chemistry and his group's discovery of CuAAC (the copper-catalyzed azide alkynecycloaddition), a near perfect reaction.

More recently the Sharpless group discovered SuFEx, also near perfect for click chemistry. In concert with the thiol-ene reaction, these three make click chemistry a far-reaching method for discovery chemistry.

Professor Sir David Lane

Sir David is one of the scientists credited with the landmark discovery of cancer gene p53 in 1979. p53, called the "Guardian of the genome" is the most frequently mutated gene in human cancer as more than half of human tumours contain mutations in the gene.

He was previously the Director of the Cancer Research UK Cell Transformation Research Group and Professor of Oncology at the University of Dundee in Scotland. He had also held the position of Chief Scientist with Cancer Research UK. In 1996 Sir David founded the biotechnology company Cyclacel now listed on NASDAQ.

Sir David is currently Chief Scientist of Singapore’s Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) and also the Chairman of Chugai Pharmbody Research Pte Ltd (CPR) which he helped to attract to Singapore. CPR represents a $400 million 10-year investment by Chugai in research located in the Synapse building at the Biopolis, Singapore. The company currently employs over 90 highly qualified researchers developing new antibody therapeutics. Sir David’s A*Star p53 laboratory is working on peptide and antibody based therapies that target the p53 pathway and on the evolution and function of tumour suppressors. Much of the work has been in collaboration with Dr Chandra Verma’s team at A*Star BII.

For his efforts in cancer research, Sir David was knighted in 2000. He also received the Cancer Research UK Lifetime Achievement Award – a prize that recognises his pioneering research that led to the discovery of p53. Sir David has also been awarded a number of International Prizes including the Paul Erlich Prize, the Josef Steiner Prize and the Brupbacher Prize.


Nick Hoogenraad Lecture Theatre,

LIMS 1 Building, Room 101 La Trobe University, Bundoora Campus Plenty Road Melbourne, VIC 3086

Other events by type



23rd May 2018 4:04pm

Advanced search