Dr Sarah Bernays, Associate Professor Adam Bourne, Professor Susan Kippax, Professor Peter Aggleton and Professor Richard Parker." /> Book launch: “Remaking HIV prevention in the 21st century: The promise of TasP, U=U and PrEP”, Events, La Trobe University

Book launch: “Remaking HIV prevention in the 21st century: The promise of TasP, U=U and PrEP”

Event status:

Text 'Sarah Bernays - Adam Bourne - Susan Kippax - Peter Aggleton - Richard Parker - Editors - Remaking HIV Prevention in the 21st Century - The Promise of TasP, U=U and PrEP' on an abstract orange and red background To coincide with World AIDS Day 2021, we are pleased to invite you to an online webinar launching Remaking HIV prevention in the 21st century: The promise of TasP, U=U and PrEP. This collection was edited by Dr Sarah Bernays, Associate Professor Adam Bourne, Professor Susan Kippax, Professor Peter Aggleton and Professor Richard Parker.

Book now

Date:
Friday 03 December 2021 10:00 am (Add to calendar)
Contact:
Adam Bourne (La Trobe University)
Sarah Bernays (University of Sydney)
(03) 9479 8700
Presented by:
  • Associate Professor Adam Bourne
  • Dr Sarah Bernays
  • Professor Sue Kippax
  • Dr Adrian Guta
  • Dr Kari Lancaster
  • Dr Lisa Lazarus
Type of Event:
Forum/symposium; Launch; Public Lecture; Public

🠘 Back to ARCSHS events

Comprising 21 chapters from authors living and working on six continents, this edited collection recognises and examines the central role that social science has played, and continues to play, in the global HIV pandemic.

As we mark 40 years since the recognition of HIV, we discuss the enduring but evolving interplay between the biomedical and the social, economic, and political spheres in which HIV prevention must operate. The effectiveness of biomedical methods to prevent, control and even end the HIV/AIDS epidemic is dependent upon our collective ability to engage with social processes, contexts and inequalities. The book examines the ways in which treatment as prevention (TasP), PrEP and the concept of undetectable being untransmissible (U=U) have come to be framed, shaped, and experienced through this nexus of social conditions and the implications this has for individuals and communities.

The event will comprise short presentations from chapter authors followed by a panel discussion and Q&A with the editors. Speakers include:

  • Dr Adrian Guta (University of Windsor, Canada): New Hierarchies of Desirability and Old Forms of Deviance Related to PrEP: Insights from the Canadian Experience
  • Dr Kari Lancaster (UNSW Sydney, Australia): Falling short of 90:90:90: How missed targets govern disease elimination
  • Dr Lisa Lazarus (University of Manitoba, Canada): Entangled bodies in a PrEP demonstration project

The logos of the Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society, the University of Sydney, Columbia University and UNSW Sydney

International launch times

  • Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT): December 3 at 10am
  • Bangkok: December 3 at 6am
  • Geneva: December 3, midnight
  • London: December 2 at 11pm
  • Toronto/New York: December 2 at 6pm
  • Rio de Janeiro: December 2 at 8pm
  • San Francisco: December 2 at 3pm

The 90-minute session will be recorded, with the video available afterwards for viewing on this page.

For more details regarding Remaking HIV prevention in the 21st century, or to order a copy, visit the SpringerLink page.

Online - Zoom Webinar

La Trobe University

Search

to

5th Dec 2021 2:00am

Advanced search

December Next Previous

  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
5
11
12
13
14
18
19
21
22
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31