Victorian Sport Awards and La Trobe University School of Management

2010 Victorian Sport AwardsLa Trobe University School of Management proudly sponsored the 2010 Victorian Sport Awards, an annual event celebrating significant achievements in Victorian sport. The event was hosted by Vicsport (the state body for Victorian sport organisations), and the Governor of Victoria and Ron Barassi were amongst the dignitaries in attendance.

Sport Management is in the top ten courses offered by La Trobe University, and the Victorian Sport Awards provided a fantastic opportunity to promote the University and program to the sport industry.

Professor Leigh Drake, Dean of the Faculty of Law and Management, presented the Victorian Official of the Year Award to Richard Lawysz for his contribution to the sport of athletics and Professor Russell Hoye, Director for the Centre for Sport and Social Impact presented the Best Sports Development Initiative Award to the Multicultural Program for Women - Football Federation Victoria. The Sport Management program within the Faculty of Law and Management has a strategic relationship with Football Federation Victoria for the delivery of the Victorian Champions League work placement subject and associated sponsorship reaching many thousands of junior and elite soccer players throughout the state.

Other award winners on the night included Jim Stynes for his lifetime involvement in Australian Rules football, and Cadel Evans for his achievements in the sport of cycling.

La Trobe University sport management program continue their involvement with Vicsport and the Victorian sport industry through committee representation, the Sport Management Program Advisory Group, and student practicum and work placement opportunities.