About the Conference

President’s Welcome

Welcome to the ASAL 2017 Conference. This year’s conference will ask its presenters to continue to think about Australian literature at home and in the world following on from recent conferences highlighting the worlding of Australian literature, the centrality of indigenous literature, and the changing imperatives and pressures in the teaching of Australian literature in Australia and beyond. This conference asks contributors to look inwards and outwards: examining the continuing fascination with place, context and locality in the face of the global.

One of the highest concentrations of Australian Studies centres in the world is in China. This conference invites Chinese and Australian scholars of Australian literature to come together with other international scholars of Australian literature to examine the teaching and study of Australian literature in the context of this transnational interest.

Sue Martin
Association for the Study of Australian Literature

Conference Organising Committee

  • Professor Sue Martin, La Trobe University
  • Professor Lyn McCredden, Deakin University
  • Associate Professor Larissa Davies, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor Wenche Ommundsen, University of Wollongong & Deakin University

The ASAL 2017 Conference is generously supported by:

La Trobe University logo   Deakin University logo   Melbourne University logo   Copyright Agency logo FASIC logo

ASAL Membership

ASAL membership entails electronic copies of JASAL each year, discounted conference registration and email notices of events relevant to ASAL members.

Membership is for the financial year: July 1 – June 30

ASAL membership fees are as follows:

$90 for individuals

$110 for institutions

$60 for concession holders and unwaged

$40 for postgraduates (special two-year membership)

Please contact the Treasurer, Roger Osborne (r.osborne@uq.edu.au) for more information.

Contact Us

ASAL Secretary Details
Demelza Hall, Federation University Australia

ASAL Conference Details

La Trobe University