China Studies Research Centre Advisory Board

Professor Kent Anderson, DVC (Community and Engagement), the University of Western Australia

Professor Kent Anderson is an international lawyer who specialises in comparing Asian legal systems. He has an eclectic background, having completed tertiary studies in US, Japan, and the UK in Law, Politics, Economics and Asian Studies. He also worked as a marketing manager with a US regional airline in Alaska and as a commercial lawyer in Hawaii. Before joining UWA, Kent was Pro Vice Chancellor (International) at University of Adelaide and before that Dean of the then Faculty of Asian Studies at the Australian National University. He started his academic career as associate professor at Hokkaido University Law School in Japan. Kent is on the National Library of Australia Council, New Colombo Plan Advisory Board, Board of Canberra Grammar School, and a variety of academic and community boards including the International Education Association of Australia (IEAA).

Mr Rowan Callick

Author and columnist Rowan Callick has three times worked as a China Correspondent, once for The Australian Financial Review and twice for The Australian, completing his last posting in April this year. He remains a columnist for The Australian. He has been a member of the National Advisory Council on Aid Policy, of the Australia Indonesia Institute board, of the Foreign Minister's Foreign Affairs Council, and of the advisory councils of Melbourne University’s Asian Law Centre and of La Trobe University’s China Studies Centre. He has authored "Comrades & Capitalists: Hong Kong Since the Handover,” “Channar: A Landmark Venture In Iron Ore,” and “Party Time: Who Runs China And How.” All three have been published in both English and Chinese. He has won the Graham Perkin Award for Australian Journalist of the Year, and two Walkley Awards, for coverage of Hong Kong in 1997 and of China in 2007. He was appointed in 2013 as a fellow of the Australian Institute of International Affairs. He was awarded the OBE in 2015 for services to journalism and journalist training in Papua New Guinea.

Professor Cheryl Dissanayake

Professor Dissanayake is the founding Director of the Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre (OTARC) at La Trobe University, established in 2008 as the first centre in Australia dedicated to research on Autism. She has been an autism researcher since 1984, when she began her PhD at Monash University. On completion she undertook a postdoctoral fellowship in the Sigman lab at UCLA, and has established and led an active research program since joining La Trobe University in 1996. She is currently working with researchers at Nankai University and Tianjin Women’s and Children’s Health Centre in Tianjin to train medical professionals to identify risk signs of Autism in children between the ages of 12-24 months using Social Attention and Communication Surveillance (SACS) developed at La Trobe University. SACS is being incorporated into the 7-year Tianjin Women and Child Health Plan (2014-2020).

Professor John Fitzgerald

Professor John Fitzgerald FAHA is Emeritus Professor at Swinburne Institute of Technology. Before joining Swinburne in 2013 John served five years as Representative of The Ford Foundation in Beijing where he directed the Foundation's China operations. Before that, he was Head of the School of Social Sciences at La Trobe University and before that again directed the International Centre of Excellence in Asia-Pacific Studies at the Australian National University. In Canberra he served as Chair of the Education Committee of the Australia-China Council of the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, as chair of the Committee for National and International Cooperation of the Australian Research Council. Most recently he served as President of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.  His research focuses on territorial government and civil society in China and on Australia's Asian diasporas.

Professor John Makeham

Professor Makeham is Chair and Director of the China Studies Research Centre at La Trobe University. He specializes in Chinese intellectual history. He has a particular interest in Confucian thought throughout Chinese history and, in more recent years, in the influence of Sinitic Buddhist thought on pre-modern and modern Confucian philosophy. Educated in Australia, China, Taiwan and Japan, he has held academic positions at Victoria University of Wellington, University of Adelaide, National Taiwan University, Chinese University of Hong Kong, and ANU.  He is a recipient of the Joseph Levenson Prize and the Special Book Award of China, and is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities and Emeritus Professor at ANU.

Ms Alice Wong GAICD, Chair of the CSRC Advisory Board

With thirty eight years’ experience in banking, Alice has developed a unique understanding of both Asian and Australian business and economic conditions, international trade, and business cultures. She recently retired as Head of Asian Leadership at the Westpac Group, where she developed strategies to increase the Asia capability of the organisation and the diversity of its leadership core.

Alice is a Council Member of the National Library of Australia, a Director of the Asia Society Australia, the Special Adviser to the Bangarra Group Board, and an Advisory Board Member of the La Trobe University Business School, Patron of the Chinese Cancer Society of Victoria and holds committee roles with the Institute of Public Administration Australia and Swinburne University of Technology.