About the Centre

The former Centre for China Studies was established in 2007 as an initiative of La Trobe University, Peking University and Beijing Foreign Studies University of China. The Centre was originally intended to foster relations between the University and leading educational and research institutions in China. After an external review held in 2014, the Centre was repurposed to become a cutting edge research centre for China Studies at La Trobe University, and relaunched in 2016 as the China Studies Research Centre. As a key element in La Trobe University's China Strategy, the new research centre aims to:

  • Promote and advance La Trobe's research strengths in China Studies
  • Deliver high quality research outputs in China Studies
  • Develop and enhance La Trobe's research reputation and expertise in China-related research across both Colleges
  • Increase the University's capacity to win competitive research funding
  • Provide intellectual leadership across the university
  • Foster research links with partners and institutions in Greater China

CSRC Advisory Board

The Board comprises senior representatives from different sectors. The current members of the Advisory Board are:

  • Ms Alice Wong, Chair of the CSRC Advisory Board
  • Professor Kent Anderson, DVC (Community and Engagement), The University of Western Australia
  • Mr Rowan Callick, Author and Columnist for the The Australian
  • Professor Cheryl Dissanayake, Founding Director of the Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre, La Trobe University
  • Professor John Fitzgerald, FAHA is Emeritus Professor at Swinburne Institute of Technology
  • Professor John Makeham, FAHA is Director of the China Studies Research Centre, La Trobe University