State and Federal Parliamentary and Government Alumni Network

The La Trobe Government and Parliamentary Alumni Network will develop and promote opportunities for alumni, working across all tiers of government, in both politics and the public service, to participate in social, networking and professional activities.

La Trobe’s alumni have held the highest positions in public service across the nation. We’ve produced Government ministers and staffers, Secretaries of Prime Minister and Cabinet, Chiefs of Staff, CEOs, Advisers and Managers across the political spectrum and all tiers of government.

La Trobe is widely recognised as one of Australia's leading centres for the study of politics and international relations.

The La Trobe University State and Federal Parliamentary and Government Alumni Network was officially launched on March 06, 2017 by Terry Moran AC and Professor John Dewar, La Trobe Vice-Chancellor at Parliament House in Melbourne. Visit our gallery to see photos from the event.

Prominent alumni in this sector include:

  • Terence "Terry" Moran AC who is Patron of this network
  • William "Bill" Kelty AC
  • Elizabeth Proust AO
  • The Hon Jacinta Allan, MP
  • The Hon Matthew Guy, MP
  • The Hon Greg Barber, MP
  • The Hon Nick Wakeling, MP
  • Ms Danielle Green, MP
  • Ms Maree Edwards, MP
  • Bronwyn Halfpenny MP

As part of La Trobe's 50th anniversary celebrations, we have captured the story of some of these alumni in their own words as part of our Living History videos. Please visit the website to view them.

How to join the network:

We welcome any alumni working and/or volunteering within politics or the public service sector.

Membership is free, simply complete the Parliamentary and Government Alumni Member Registration form