Football Club Alumni Chapter

There have been well over 3,000 members who have played for the LTUFC over the past 40+ years, and the Club is keen to keep in contact with former club members.

The LTUFC Alumni Chapter aims to continue to welcome former Club members back for reunions, matches and other events.

If you were involved with the club as a player coach or in any other capacity, you are encouraged to contact the Alumni and Advancement Office to let them know that you were a former member of the LTUFC. You will then be able to find out about the latest LTUFC news and stay informed about upcoming events and matches, through the LTUFC and La Trobe University Alumni e-newsletters.

2013/14 Season

LTUFC will begin it's pre-season training on Monday 25th November, 6pm start. We will be holding a "meet the coaches" BBQ on Wednesday 27th November at approximately 7:30pm. All members are invited to attend.

For more information about the La Trobe University Football Club, please visit the LTUFC website.

How to join

Complete theonline update formor contact the Alumni and Advancement Office to stay in touch. (Don't forget to let us know that you're a former or current member of the LTUFC to ensure that you are provided with relevant information!)

About the chapter

La Trobe University Australian Rules Football Club is one of the founding clubs of what is now the La Trobe University Sports and Recreation Association (SARA). The club started in the Panton Hill Football League in 1967 before moving to the Victorian Amateur Football Association in 1970, and has won an impressive 13 premierships in just over 40 years.

Although football is a team sport there have been some memorable individual feats which should be mentioned. Michael Mullins won a League Best and Fairest in 1967, the first year of the club, polling 3 votes in every game except one (when he and Tony Sheehan went the King Lake Pub before hand). Others include Peter Tunbridge who represented Victoria, Roger Hampson and Phil Prior who went on to play for Essendon and David Morgan kicked 168 goals in a season and then went on to represent Richmond. Ian Wrigglesworth and Daryl Poole won a league best and fairest in the same year. Similarly Rex Hardman also won a league best and fairest, Ash Cummings came runner-up in the league best and fairest in season 1996 as did Gerard Robinson in 1999, a club premiership year. And more recently David McMeekin came 3rd in the 2004 League count.

The Club aims to provide an opportunity for students to be involved in sport in an environment that that complements their academic endeavours. Almost all players and officials are or have been students of the University.

The Club is affiliated with the Victorian Amateur Football League and the Victorian Womens Football League, with a newly formed women's team which competes every Sunday.With the success of the seniors and reserves teams, the re-introduction of the under 19’s team and the inaugural year of our women’s team, 2009 was one of the most successful and exciting years in the clubs history. With perfect playing facilities, consistent on and off field structure and many new and innovative ideas, 2010 is building with anticipation.